Ask Me
Kellee E. Warren
Contact:
Special Collections and University Archives
UIC Library
801 South Morgan St, Rm 3-330
Chicago, IL 60607
UIC Library
801 South Morgan St, Rm 3-330
Chicago, IL 60607
312.996.2742
Primary Source Collections at UIC
- Carlyle Letters OnlineCarlyle Letters Online features thousands of letters written by Thomas and Jane Carlyle to more than 600 recipients: politicians, poets, scientists, and others. Each letter in the collection is indexed with multiple terms, and can be searched by date, subject, and recipient.
- iPOLLDatasets of opinion polls conducted in the U.S. from 1935 to the present.
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineNineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012. May not be compatible with Chrome.
- Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000 - Scholars' edition
Collection combining primary documents with historical and scholarly analysis and teaching tools, all documenting women’s activism in public life. Includes captions and transcripts.
- LGBTQ+ Source
Formerly known as LGBT Life with Full Text, LGBTQ+ Source includes the fulltext of more than 140 current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Queer (LGBTQ) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books, plus indexing of additional books and periodicals. Topics covered include LGBT Studies, issues affecting the lives of LGBTQ people, queer theory, and more.
Other UIC image collections
- Design CollectionChicago and graphic design share a long, vital association that stems back to the city's role as the geographical and railway center of the industrial part of the country. As it became a center for the production and distribution of printed materials, Chicago became importance in the world of graphic design. This collection reflects that prominence.
- Embellished Title PagesEmbellished title pages: medical texts from the 16th and 17th centuries. These reproductions of title pages from the rare book collection of the Library of the Health Sciences show examples of the many fascinating ways printers embellished their books with elaborate engravings, woodcuts, and color typography. The title pages reproduced here were printed between 1505 and 1677 in a variety of European cities.
- H.D. Carberry Collection of Caribbean LiteratureThe project is an effort to preserve fragile book jackets of the H.D. Carberry Collection of Caribbean Studies and to provide access for scholars and general readers through the digitization of the images. Collected over the period from the 1940's through the nineties by Jamaican nationalist poet and Supreme Court Justice H.D. Carberry, the Carberry Collection is comprised of 1000 volumes, two thirds of which are literature and about one third history and politics.
- Sheet Music CollectionThe Sheet Music Collection comprises about 10,000 pieces of music, ranging from popular music of the late-19th and early-20th centuries as well as classical music scores. The selections presented here are in the public domain and include patriotic hymns and marches, Broadway hits, Tin Pan Alley, and other examples of Americana.
- Sierra LeoneThe collection consists of items related to the British administration of Sierra Leone, including public and private papers of British officials in the colony of Sierra Leone, 1792-1825.
- Society of Typographic ArtsOriginally established in 1927, the Society of Typographic Arts currently focuses on local and regional issues as well as on any global issues that might affect Chicagoland designers. The collection includes a selection of exhibition catalogs and other publications.