Federal Depository Library Program
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
Gateways to Government Information
- USA.govUSA.gov creates and organizes timely, needed government information and services and makes them accessible to the public anytime, anywhere, via their channel of choice.
- GovInfo.GovGovinfo.gov is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
Govinfo.gov provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. - CyberCemetery: University of North Texas Government Information ConnectionThe CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report).
- LLMC-Archive of Government InformationLLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use. While aiding libraries in their preservation and space recovery programs, it also provides an economical way to complete retrospective collections.
- FDLP Web ArchiveArchived Web sites from the federal government, regularly updated and stored.
- Illinois State Documents on Hathi TrustThis collection includes Illinois state documents received through the Illinois State Library’s Document Depository Program. The Secretary of State and Illinois State Library allow all Illinois State documents fully accessible in the HathiTrust.
International & Foreign Government
- CIA World FactbookThe CIA World Factbook provides a wide range of information about individual countries around the world, from economic indicators to flags of the countries. It is updated every two weeks.
- US Embassies SiteThis site includes the websites of US embassy missions around the world.
- League of Nations ArchiveIn 2009, the League of Nations Archives were registered in UNESCO’s Memory of the World Register. The archives were recognized as a unique collection of global importance that met the criteria established by UNESCO to facilitate preservation, assist with universal access, and increase awareness worldwide for documentary heritage of international, regional and national significance.
Census Data
- Census DataOfficial U.S. site of data from the last census. See also: Historical Statistics of the U.S. elsewhere in this guide.
- Integrated Public Use Microdata SetsIPUMS-USA is a project dedicated to collecting and distributing United States census data.
State and Local Governing Associations
- Illinois Blue Books
Illinois Blue Books are comprehensive sources of information about Illinois' executive, judicial and legislative branches of government.