Skip to Main Content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Special Collections and Archives Research at UIC and Beyond

Overview of Special Collections and University Archives Services

Special Collections and University Archives Department

The Special Collections and University Archives Department at the Richard J. Daley library houses collections of rare books, manuscripts, maps and photographs, with particular strength in the social, political and cultural history of Chicago. The collections at the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago document Chicago's rich history as a center for the education and practice of the medical arts.

The University Archives is the depository for historical records of the University of Illinois at Chicago. The University Archives also contains selected papers of prominent faculty, alumni, and administrative staff.

Policies & Procedures for Use of Collections

  • All researchers must fill out the Researcher Registration form the first time they visit. Photo ID required.
  • Food or drink is not permitted in the reading room
  • Please keep your cell phone on vibrate or silent. If you receive a call, please take the call outside of the reading room
  • Ask at the front desk a locker key to place your belonging such as coat and book bags. Only bring in material you need to complete your research. Laptops, notebooks, and digital cameras are permitted. Please use only pencil when taking notes (the ASC can provide pencils)
  • Please use only one box at a time. Please take only one folder per box at a time. This will ensure that all folders are returned to the correct box in the correct order
  • Ask for white cotton gloves if you will be handling photographs
  • Please handle all materials delicately
  • Photocopies are available for .25 cents per page, or scans for .50 cents per page. Library staff will do all photocopying for you. Due to staffing levels it might be 2-3 days before we can complete your order. Please ask the archivist at the reference desk about the procedure to request photocopies
  • Researchers may bring their own digital camera in order to take pictures of materials subject to compliance with our posted procedures. This can be done in lieu of ordering photocopies. There is no charge, we just ask that you fill out the Digital Camera Usage form agreeing to fair use copyright.
  • Remember the archivist at the reference desk is always available for questions and will be glad to assist you!