Patient Safety : Resources for Health Care Professionals

CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.

Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.

For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.

Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. 
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration

Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present. 

Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.

Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.