It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
safety: freedom from accidental injury;
ensuring patient safety involves the establishment of operational systems and
processes that that minimize the likelihood of errors and maximize the
likelihood of intercepting them when they occur.
Source: Kohn LT, Corrigan JM, Donaldson MS. To err is human: building a safer health system. Washington, DC: National Academy
If you are off campus, be sure to get the subscription key from the list of databases A - Z. EMBASE indexes journal literature in the fields of biomedicine and pharmacology. About 600,000 citations and abstracts are added annually, 80% of which contain abstracts. It is updated weekly.
• Includes PubMed abstracts (about 22 million) • Europe PMC full text articles (about 2.2 million, of which over 400,000 are Open Access) • Patent abstracts (over 4 million European, US, and International) • National Health Service (NHS) clinical guidelines • Agricola records (500,000) • Supplemented with Chinese Biological Abstracts and the Citeseer database.
HINARI Access to Research in Health Programme provides free or very low cost online access to the major journals in biomedical and related social sciences to local, not-for-profit institutions in developing countries.
National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 12 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
The HSRR database was designed for health care researchers and health sciences librarians seeking data resources used in health services research, the behavioral and social sciences and public health. Users may examine and compare characteristics of health-related research tools and link to additional research resources.
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Provides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Each record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference. It also provides access to The British Library Document Supply Centre's vast collection of conference proceedings.
Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 600 full text education journals, 1965 to present.
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 600 full text education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.
PsycINFO(R), spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,500 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Over 60,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
"SafetyLit offers two complementary services: The bibliographic database that contains items beginning with reports published in the mid-17th century on the safety of farmers, mariners, and miners and continuing to the present day. A weekly Update Bulletin of recently published journal articles, reports, and doctoral theses on matters related to safety. SafetyLit draws contents from more than 12,000 scholarly journals of many diverse professional disciplines and from more than 150 of the world’s nations."
The ISI® Indexes provide access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 7000 of the world's scholarly journals covering the arts & humanities, science and technology, and social sciences.
Consumers' health information produced by the National Library of Medicine that is authoritative and up to date.
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINEPlus provides health professionals and consumers information that is authoritative and up to date. MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 500 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Articles Relating to Patient Safety
Find articles about patient safety topics in these consumer-friendly databases.
Consumer-oriented coverage of all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Consumer Health Complete is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. It includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis.
Medically Induced Trauma Support Services (MITSS), Inc. is a non-profit organization founded in June of 2002 whose mission is "To Support Healing and Restore Hope" to patients, families, and clinicians who have been affected by an adverse medical event.
Partnering for Patient Empowerment through Community Awareness, or PPECA, is a project that pairs hospitals with community libraries to help inform consumers and librarians about patient safety. The project focuses on the role of consumers as partners in their own care and that of their loved ones.
Quackwatch, Inc., is a nonprofit corporation whose purpose is to combat health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, and misconduct. Its primary focus is on quackery-related information that is difficult or impossible to get elsewhere. Founded by Dr. Stephen Barrett in 1969 as the Lehigh Valley Committee Against Health Fraud, it was incorporated in 1970.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Clinicians, the Government, and many other groups are working hard to improve health care quality, but it's a team effort. You can improve your care and the care of your loved ones by taking an active role in your health care. Ask questions. Understand your condition. Evaluate your options.
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
Need more information?
If you are looking for information about drug safety, support groups, or other consumer health concerns, please refer to the
Consumer Health Research Guide for more information.
These are E-books in Health Sciences, with an emphasis on Anesthesiology, published by Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins. Acceptable use does not permit downloading, redistributing or transfer of any lengthy portions of the E-books.
A growing collection of e-books published by Springer and Humana Press in copyright years 2004 to present, with some earlier entries. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
A growing collection of e-books published by Springer and Humana Press in copyright years 2004 to present, through 2010. Coverage includes Architecture and Design; Behavioral Science; Biomedical and Life Sciences; Business and Economics; Chemistry and Materials Science; Computer Science; Earth and Environmental Science; Engineering; Humanities, Social Sciences and Law; Mathematics and Statistics; Medicine; Physics and Astronomy, and more.