Newspapers
- Access World News Research Collection: 2023 Edition
Provides current and archived news content from more than 13,800 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ]
- Newspaper SourceCurrent major newspapers and selected regional newspapers plus newscast transcripts. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersProvides full-text PDF articles from several major U.S. newspapers including: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Courier, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and Washington Post.
General/Multidisciplinary Databases
The general databases listed below are a good place to begin research but they often provide limited coverage. Use subject-specific databases to find more articles on your topic.
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- ProQuest DatabasesThis is a portal to a growing list of Proquest research products, including Theses & Dissertations, Historical Newspapers, ABI/Inform business collection, and more. Note: we do not subscribe to all the titles on the list.
- JSTORDigitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
- Google ScholarSearches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Subject-Specific Databases
Subject-specific databases offer in-depth coverage of specific disciplines or subject areas. The databases listed below are recommended based on the overall theme of your English 161 course.
- ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM is an extensive business research database with full-text articles from business journals, business and trade magazines and newspapers.
- Economist Historical Archive (1843 to 3 years ago)The Economist has presented global news since 1843. The Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue from 1843 to 3 years ago as a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. May not be compatible with Firefox.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - current)Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
- PsycINFONow called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
RefWorks
Tips for Searching Databases
The following techniques can improve your success when searching in the article databases.
Enter phrases in quotes: "corporate responsibility," "fast food"
Use truncation symbols to search for alternate word endings: In most databases, entering corporat* searches for corporate, corporation, and corporations.
If one term doesn't work, try a few others. Experiment with different vocabulary related to your topic. Brainstorm ideas for relevant keywords and use background sources such as wikipedia, Facts on File Issue and Controversies or CQ Researcher for suggestions.