Boxes for Your Guide
Here are some default boxes that may be easily copied into your subject guide. From your guide:
- Add a new box
- Select copy another box from the system
- Select Guide to Research Guides
- Select desired box
Resources for finding Widget Code
- Gale-Cengage widgetsTo create widgets, add the locid, which is uic.
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use Interlibrary Loan to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library. You will need to create an ILLiad account to request articles.
EndNote Web
Manage citations and quickly build bibliographies with EndNote Web.
It is a browser-based software with no installation required, freely available to UIC users through the Library's Web of Science subscription.
Oxford English Dictionary
Widgets
What is a Widget? Widgets are small sized interface elements that can be used to do some function (perform a search, check the weather, etc...).Widgets are available for resources such as Google Scholar, and the Oxford English Dictionary. You may add subject relevant widgets to your guide, but please be avoid widgets with advertising, bad graphics, or poor sizing. Please also test the widget's functionality before adding.
To ensure accessibility for all users, you must always add a non-widget link to the same resource or to a comparable resource.
How to add a search widget: There are multiple ways to add a search widget to a LibGuide.
Option 1: Select "Add New Box" and choose the first option (Rich Text/Dynamic Content/Scripts). Give the box a name and click "Create." To add code for a JavaScript box, you will have to click "switch to the plan text editor" and add the code for your widget.
Option 2: Select "Add New Box" and choose "Copy Another Box From System." Select the guide containing the box and the name of the box to add it to your LibGuide.
How to add a Browzine widget: Create a widget using color: 000033 and customizing the text and journal list. Then paste the code into an "Embedded Widget" box on your LibGuide.
RefWorks
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases cover a broad range of disciplines. Some include popular magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. Use subject-specific database for more in-depth coverage of individual disciplines.
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
- Project Muse
Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
More Databases
Can't find the resource you need?
The Database A-Z list provides links and information about hundreds of article indexes and electronic reference materials.
UIC Library Search
Discover the world of library content
Take a look at the Search Help Guide to learn more about finding articles, books, and more.
Twitter feed
Search PubMed
Search PubMed
Search Nursing Books@Ovid
 |
|
The New RefWorks
The new version of RefWorks has increased capabilities like importing pdf documents and a Google docs add-on. For more information, see our RefWorks page.
PubMed@UIC
Library Toolbox
Find books and more with UIC Library Search:
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested by selecting All I-Share Libraries.
Find full text
Search for E-journals, Magazines, Newspapers or E-books
links to full text information from within library database results.
My Account
Connect to My Account in UIC Library Search.
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.
RefWorks
Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with
Full Text Access
Find full text articles from all our UIC Library databases by clicking on
Books and More
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested by selecting All I-Share Libraries.
UIC Library Search
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested by selecting All I-Share Libraries.
E-Book Search
Find E-books
E-books may be found in UIC Library Search.
- Login for fullest results.
- Select UIC Catalog only.
- Select "Books" and "Available Online" in the left margin.
