Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

A Guide to the UIC Archives

The University of Illinois at Chicago Archives

Research UIC History

We are currently in the process of migrating the University Archives finding aids to a new content management system, CuadraStar SKCA. You may search SKCA for relevant materials, or browse a list of finding aids. If you need more help, please Ask A Librarian.

For more information about searching in SKCA, please see our tutorial guide.

Search the UIC Archives

Try the new UIC Special Collections and University Archives Finding Aid Search!

We're pleased announce a preview of the new search system for UIC finding aids.  You can use this system to discover resources in Special Collections and University Archives by searching for your topic or by browsing popular topics.  See How to search Special Collections and University Archives finding aids for search tips.

You can still also browse our finding aids by title as before.


 

Or browse the finding aids

 

Use our Ask an Archivist service for historical questions about the University.

Alternatively, try one of the following approaches to locating information in the University Archives:

  • What time period are you researching?
    ​    see  Time Periods
  • Where can I find basic information about UIC?
    ​    see  Reference Files
  • Is a specific faculty member, alumnus, or athlete involved?
    ​    ​see  Biographies and Papers
  • Does your topic involve a specific college or one of their units?
    ​    ​see  Colleges
  • Does your question involve campus physical infrastructure?
    ​    ​see  Physical Infrastructure
  • Would the faculty governance structure play a role in your subject?
    ​    ​see  Faculty Senate
  • Was a member of the University administration involved?
    ​    ​see  Administration
  • Was the U of I System administration involved?
        see  System Administration
  • Was the University of Illinois Board of Trustees involved?
    ​    ​see  Board of Trustees
  • Was money involved?
        ​see  Financial
  • Would reports to external membership organizations be helpful?
        ​see  Accreditation Reports
  • What digital resources of historical UIC information are available?
        ​see  Online Resources
  • Are there any books that focus on UIC?
        ​see  Books
  • Are there University newspapers that may include useful information?
        ​see  Newspapers
  • Are chronological lists of events available?
        ​see  Timelines