Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Daley Family Collections: Home

A guide to the Daley Family collections at UIC Special Collections and University Archives

PLEASE NOTE

***The Special Collections and University Archives reading rooms in Daley Library and Library of the Health Sciences will be closed to researchers beginning Tuesday, March 17, 2020 until further notice. Special Collections librarians and staff will be available to help with virtual reference questions through Ask A Librarian. Please note that response times will be longer than normal.***

About the Daley Family Collections

The Daleys are one of Chicago's most important political families. Richard J. Daley served as the mayor for 21 years (1955-1976). His son, Richard M. Daley, was mayor for 22 years (1989-2011). Another son, William M. "Bill" Daley, held a number of positions of national importance, serving, for example, as President Bill Clinton's Secretary of Commerce (1997-2000) and as President Barack Obama's Chief of Staff (2011-2012).

These collections document the Daley family legacy and the city's history. Researchers may find these collections useful for studying a variety of topics, among them city politics, race relations and urban planning. Those with personal ties to Chicago may find these collections helpful in finding information about any number of events they may remember from the city's history.

The processed portions of these collections are open to the public. You may view them in the Special Collections and University Archives reading room in the Richard J. Daley Library (please note our special hours). While there are no restrictions on what researchers may see, some audio and film recordings may be inaccessible.

If you have question or wish to make an appointment, please Ask a Librarian.

Richard J. Daley

Richard Joseph Daley (May 15, 1902 – December 20, 1976) was a six-term mayor of the city of Chicago (1955-1976) and the influential chair of the Cook County Democratic Party from 1953 until his death in 1976. This collection holds materials documenting the public offices, political career, and personal life of Daley and contains documents, publications, ephemera, memorabilia, artifacts and photographs dating from 1870-2010. The bulk of the collection dates from Daley’s terms as mayor of the city of Chicago and Chairman of the Cook County Democratic Central Committee.

Richard J. Daley collection research guide

More about Richard J. Daley

Richard M. Daley

Richard Michael Daley (b. 1942- ) was Chicago's longest serving mayor, holding the office from 1989 to 2011. This collection holds correspondence, memoranda, news releases, newspaper clippings, speeches, reports, photographs, audiovisual recordings, digital media, artifacts and ephemera.The bulk of the collection dates from Daley's tenure as mayor.

Richard M. Daley papers research guide

More about Richard M. Daley

William M. Daley

William D. "Bill" Daley (b. 1948- ) served in several positions the United States federal government. Examples were his stints as Secretary of Commerce (1997-2000) and President Barack Obama's chief of staff. Member of the prominent Chicago Daley family, he is the son of Mayor Richard J. Daley and brother of Mayor Richard M. Daley. This collection contains records, correspondence, photographs, speeches, newspaper clippings, and other materials related to William M. Daley's career as Secretary of Commerce from 1997 to 2000, the 2000 United States Presidential election, and the Daley family from 1948 to 2000.

William M. Daley papers research guide

More about William M. Daley

Accessing Special Collections and University Archives

Daley family project archivist

Dan Harper's picture
Dan Harper
Contact:
Richard J. Daley Library
University of Illinois at Chicago
MC 234
801 S. Morgan St. 3-330
Chicago, IL 60607
312-996-4457