Language Learning Programs
- DuolingoDuolingo is a free, highly rated online program that helps you learn up to 29 languages.
- Mango (through Chicago Public Library)Access Mango language learning software through Chicago Public Library. Not as highly rated as Duolingo, but covers more languages.
- German lessons from the Goethe InstituteFree German lessons from international non-profit promoting German language and culture.
Books for language learning
Easy Spanish ReaderPublication Date: 2015Easy Spanish Reader is based on the premise that the best way to learn a language is to start reading it, immediately. Suitable for raw beginners to intermediate-level language learners.
Breaking Out of Beginner's Spanish by Call Number: PC4121 .K38 1994ISBN: 0292743211Publication Date: 1994Written in a fun style and designed to help non-native speakers to learn the nuances of the language and how people actually talk.
Spanish for Reading by Call Number: PC4128 .F73 1998Publication Date: 1998Especially useful for graduate students who need to learn to read Spanish quickly.
Grandes Cuentos Espanoles y Latinoamericanos del Siglo XXPublication Date: 2013Bilingual anthology of short stories.
You can also search for books in the library catalog using the following subject headings:
French All-in-One for Dummies (e-book)Publication Date: 2012
Easy French ReaderPublication Date: 2015Easy French Reader is based on the premise that the best way to learn a language is to start reading it, immediately. Suitable for raw beginners to intermediate-level language learners.
French for Reading by Publication Date: 1968Recommended for graduate students who need to learn to read French quickly.
You can also search for books in the library catalog using the following subject headings:
German for Dummies (e-book)Publication Date: 2011
German for Reading by Call Number: PF3112.5 .S2 2015Publication Date: 2015Recommended for graduate students who need to learn to read German quickly.
The Routledge Modern German ReaderCall Number: PF3117 .O94 2015Publication Date: 2015Compilation of authentic German language texts for learners who wish to move beyond elementary course material to more rewarding works of fiction and non-fiction.
You can also search for books in the library catalog using the following subject headings:
Italian Grammar for Dummies (e-book)Publication Date: 2013
Easy Italian ReaderPublication Date: 2015Easy Italian Reader is based on the premise that the best way to learn a language is to start reading it, immediately. Suitable for raw beginners to intermediate-level language learners.
Great Italian Short Stories of the Twentieth CenturyPublication Date: 2013Bilingual anthology of Italian short stories.
Polish for Dummies (e-book)Publication Date: 2012
The Routledge Intermediate Polish ReaderPublication Date: 2014The Routledge Intermediate Polish Reader is designed for intermediate students of Polish and includes a wide range of excerpts from modern literature and news articles.- Fifteen modern Polish short stories byPublication Date: 1970Bilingual anthology of Polish short stories, annotated with a glossary.
Russian for Dummies (e-book)Publication Date: 2012
The Routledge Intermediate Russian ReaderPublication Date: 2015Specially designed for intermediate, upper intermediate and advanced learners of Russian and comprises a wide range of authentic extracts from mass media and literature.
A Day Without Lying by Publication Date: 2008A glossed Russian-language edition for intermediate-level students of Russian with vocabulary, exercises, and commentaries.
Easy Arabic Reader by Publication Date: 2011The Easy Reader series is based on the distinctive approach that the best way to build language skills is to start reading it. Suitable for beginners to intermediate-level learners.
Mastering Arabic Through LiteraturePublication Date: 2014
McGraw-Hill's Classic Chinese ReaderCall Number: PL1117 M34 2014Publication Date: 2013Enhance your Chinese language skills through literature and culture. Excerpts are presented in both simplified characters and pinyin.
The Routledge Intermediate Chinese ReaderCall Number: PL1115 .S54 2013Publication Date: 2013Ideal for learners who already possess a knowledge of essential grammar and vocabulary and who wish to expand their knowledge of the language through extracts from newspaper and internet articles with notes and exercises.
Cultural ChineseCall Number: PL1117 .C3748 2012Publication Date: 2012This textbook for advanced learners teaches language through readings on Chinese culture.
Specialized Dictionaries
- Diccionario de la lengua española de la Real Academia EspañolaOnline dictionary from the Spanish Royal Academy.
Diccionario del uso del español by Call Number: REF PC4625 .M62 2000ISBN: 8424922646Publication Date: 2000Concise version of another classic encyclopedia.
Diccionario de Dudas y Dificultades de la Lengua Espanola by Call Number: PC4630 .S4 1986ISBN: 8423969487Classic guide to common pitfalls of the Spanish language.
- Larousse Dictionnaire FrancaisOnline version of a standard French dictionary.
Le Grand Robert: Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Francaise by Call Number: REF PC2625 .R553 1977ISBN: 2850360309Publication Date: 1977Most extensive, multivolume dictionary of the French language.
Trésor de la Langue Française: Dictionnaire de la Langue du XIXe et du XXe Siècle by Call Number: REF PC2625 .I4ISBN: 2070770133Another important, 13-volume French dictionary. Also available online: http://atilf.atilf.fr/
- DudenOnline version of a standard German dictionary.
- Deutsches WörterbuchOnline version of extensive German dictionary compiled by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm
Use this call number map to find bilingual dictionaries in the following languages. You can find them in the Reference section on 2nd floor north or the Bookstacks on the 4th floor.
|
Compendium of the World's Languages |
P371.C362000 (2 vol) |
|
|
Afar |
PJ2465 |
|
|
Afrikaans |
PF862 |
|
|
Albanian |
PG9591 |
|
|
Amharic |
PJ9237 |
|
|
Arabic |
PJ6635-PJ6640 |
|
|
Assyrian (aka Akkadian) |
PJ3525 |
|
|
Basque |
PH5177 |
|
|
Bengali |
PK1687 |
|
|
Breton |
PB2837 |
|
|
Bulgarian |
PG979 |
|
|
Catalan |
PC3291 |
|
|
Chinese |
PL1171-PL1455 |
|
|
Coptic |
PJ2181 |
|
|
Cornish |
PB2537 |
|
|
Creole |
PM7854 |
|
|
Croatian |
PG1376 |
|
|
Czech |
PG4640 |
|
|
Danish |
PD3640 |
|
|
Dutch |
PF640 |
|
|
Egyptian |
PJ1425 |
|
|
English |
PE25-PE3729 |
|
|
American |
PE2808-3102 |
|
|
Australian |
PE3601 |
|
|
Canadian |
PE3243 |
|
|
Jamaican |
PE3313 |
|
|
Newfoundland |
PE3245 |
|
|
Scottish |
PE2116 |
|
|
South African |
PE3451 |
|
|
Slang |
PE3721 |
|
|
Thesauri |
PE1591 |
|
|
Eskimo |
PM50 |
|
|
Esperanto |
PM8237 |
|
|
Estonian |
PH625 |
|
|
Finnish |
PH279 |
|
|
French |
PC2460-PC3741 |
|
|
German |
PF3111-PF5322 |
|
|
Greek |
PA227-1179 |
|
|
Haitian |
PM7854 |
|
|
Hausa |
PL8233 |
|
|
Hawaiian |
PL6446 |
|
|
Hebrew |
PJ4833 |
|
|
Hindi |
PK1936 |
|
|
Hungarian |
PH2640 |
|
|
Iban |
PL5333 |
|
|
Indonesian |
PL5076 |
|
|
Irish |
PB1291 |
|
|
Italian |
PC1640 |
|
|
Japanese |
PL679 |
|
|
Khmer |
PL4326 |
|
|
Korean |
PL937 |
|
|
Krio |
PM7875 |
|
|
Kurdish |
PK6906 |
|
|
Lapp (aka Sami) |
PH725 |
|
|
Latin |
PA2361-PA2915 |
|
|
Latvian |
PG8979 |
|
|
Lithuanian |
PG8679 |
|
|
Macedonian |
PG1175 |
|
|
Manchu |
PL477 |
|
|
Maori |
PL6465 |
|
|
Navajo |
PM2007 |
|
|
Norwegian |
PD2691 |
|
|
Ojibwa |
PM853 |
|
|
Pali |
PK1091 |
|
|
Persian |
PK6379 |
|
|
Polish |
PG6640 |
|
|
Portuguese |
PC5333 |
|
|
Romanian |
PC779 |
|
|
Russian |
PG2640 |
|
|
Sami (aka Lapp) |
PH725 |
|
|
Samoan |
PL6501 |
|
|
Sanskrit |
PK933 |
|
|
Serbo-croatian |
PG1376 |
|
|
Slovak |
PG5379 |
|
|
Slovenian |
PG1891 |
|
|
Somali |
PJ2533 |
|
|
Spanish |
PC4580-PC4902 |
|
|
Swahili |
PL8703 |
|
|
Swedish |
PD5640 |
|
|
Tagalog |
PL6056 |
|
|
Tamil |
PL4756 |
|
|
Thai |
PL4156 |
|
|
Tibetan |
PL3637 |
|
|
Tikopia |
PL6520 |
|
|
Tiv |
PL8738 |
|
|
Turkish |
PL191 |
|
|
Ukrainian |
PG3891 |
|
|
Urdu |
PK1976 |
|
|
Uzbek |
PL55 |
|
|
Vedic |
PK379 |
|
|
Vietnamese |
PL4376 |
|
|
Welsh |
PB2191 |
|
|
Yiddish |
PJ5117 |
|
|
Yoruba |
PL8823 |
|