Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Pharmacy: UIC Licensed Resources

Databases, clinical tools and calculators, textbooks and other resources for Pharmacy

UIC Licensed Resources

The following resources are licensed by UIC for its students, faculty, and staff. 

Some UIC licensed resources do require registration.  This is sometimes simply a matter of knowing your netid and password, but other times it is more complicated with special codes, keys, etc.

The following links will take you either to the resource itself or to a box with additional details about the registration process.  Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance.

Access Products

Access Products Registration

To get Access products (Access Medicine, Access Pharmacy, etc.) on your mobile device via a mobile browser or the AccessMedicine App:

1. Create a MyAccess account. You must be on campus to create this account.

      a. Access any of the Access Products from the Library website.

      b. Click the drop-down menu at the top right of the page that says "University of Illinois at Chicago."

      c. Select "Log in or Create a Free Personal Account"

      d. Click "Create a Free MyAccess Profile" and fill out the contact information.

2. Use the Library Links to specific Access Product or Access Medicine Mobile App and sign-in with your MyAccess account. 

*You must log in from on campus once every 90 days to maintain an active subscription.


Access Medicine Mobile App

With the UIC Library's subscription to Access Medicine, you can download and use the AccessMedicine app with your MyAccess account. AccessMedicine is available for both Android and iOS devices. The app allows access to the resources: Quick Medical Dx & Rx, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Differential Diagnosis Tool, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests.


The following links can be used on a mobile device to access all content available in the Access Products. 

BrowZine

The following features are available on BrowZine:

  • Browse and read journals: Browse thousands of top journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles.
  • Stay Current with My Bookshelf: Create a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new article notifications.
  • Access on any device: Easily access BrowZine from your iOS and Android device and on BrowZine Web to stay up to date wherever you are.
  • Save and export articles: Use the BrowZine app to save articles for off-line reading or export to services such as Box, RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, and more.

Here is how to start using the BrowZine app on your mobile device:

  1. Download the BrowZine app
  2. Open the BrowZine app. Under Choose Library, select University of Illinois at Chicago
  3. Login with your NETID and password. You should only have to do this once.
  4. Then you will be prompted to login with a BrowZine account. Create the BrowZine account to view or edit your Bookshelf and sync between BrowZine Web and the app. You should receive an email containing instructions for completing BrowZine account setup.
  5. After your account is setup, go to BrowZine Library, click on the subject that you are interested in.  
  6. Click on the journal you are interested in. Then click on the icon in the upper right corner to add the journal to your bookshelf. 

 

Clinical Key on Mobile Device

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. This resource contains a wealth of resources from journals and medical textbooks for over 30+ medical specialties.


To get ClinicalKey on your device:

1. Access ClinicalKey from Databases A-Z on your computer.

2. Sign in with your UIC NetID and Password

3. Click the Register link in top right corner of the ClinicalKey toolbar.

4. Register for a personal account using your UIC email address for the Email Address option.

5. Confirm your account via your UIC Email Account.

6. Download the ClinicalKey app from the iTunes app store or Google Play on your selected mobile device. 

7. Enter your registered Username and Password to access the content on the ClinicalKey App.


Notes:

- To access to ClinicalKey content, you will need to be connected to WiFi or mobile data.

- You may need to active "Remote Access" using your UIC Email address to access content in Clinical Key.  Please review Remote Access Instructions here and select "University of Illinois at Chicago - Remote Access" under the "Choose Organization" option.


Clinical Pharmacology Mobile

Clinical Pharmacology Mobile provides up-to-date, peer-reviewed, clinically-relevant drug content.

This app is available for iOS and Android devices.


To access Clinical Pharmacology on your mobile device:

1. Download Elsevier Clinical Pharmacology from the following:

  • If you own an iOS-based device, use the iTunes store and search for "Elsevier Clinical Pharmacology" in the iPhone apps.
  • If you own an Android-based device, use the Google Play story and search for "Clinical Pharmacology."

2. Use the link below to access Clinical Pharmacology on a laptop or computer.

3. On the top left of the screen in Clinical Pharmacology, click "Register"*

  • Enter your First Name, Last Name, UIC Email Address, and Password.
  • Click the check box at the end to agree to the Terms of Service.
  • Select "Register."

4. Access your UIC Email to locate the email from Elsevier Clinical Key to activate your remote access account.*

5. Access the Clinical Pharmacology App on your mobile device and log in with your Clinical Pharmacology (or Clinical Key) username and password.

*If you already have a Clinical Key account, you do not need to register for a new account.  You will be able to log in with your Clinical Key account to Clinical Pharmacology.


Notes:

- With your remote log in to Clinical Pharmacology, you will be able to access content for 180 days.  To reactivate your access, you will need to log into Clinical Pharmacology using the Library links provided above and logging in with your personal remote access account.

- You may need to active "Remote Access" using your UIC Email address to access content in Clinical Key.  Please review Remote Access Instructions here and select "University of Illinois at Chicago - Remote Access" under the "Choose Organization" option.


DynaMedPlus App Access

DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by clinicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. This summary resource includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.

To get DynaMed on your device:

1. In an internet browser, access DynaMed via the link provided below:

2. On the DynaMed Plus homepage, click on the “Sign In” link available in the top right corner.
3. From the Sign In page, click on “Register now” to create a personal account.
4. Fill out the form using your UIC Email address and click “Register” to create your account.
5. Sign in to DynaMedPlus to verify your account was created.

On your Mobile Device:

1. Download the DynaMed app from the iTunes app store or Google Play store.
2. Launch the app and select the “Sign In” option.
3. Enter your personal DynaMed account information and click “Sign In.”
4. Select the download size of Online Only, Partial Install for text and thumbnail images, or Full Install of all content for your device.
5. When download is complete, click "Next" to access DynaMed content.

Notes:

-  It is recommended that you connect to WiFi for the initial download of DynaMed and when downloading updates.
- Select the download size based on the space available on the mobile device and your internet connectivity. If you have the available storage capacity and inconsistent WiFi access, it is recommend to download the Partial Install or Full Install to view full topics and images without internet connectivity.


Isabel Diagnostic Tool

Isabel is a diagnostic tool which you can enter your patient's abnormal clinical features and symptoms to create a differential diagnostic list.  This tool is available using you mobile web browser. 

Here are the steps to access Isabel from any mobile device:

1. Access Isabel from the Library provided links via an internet browser.

2. Scan the QR code or gather the User ID and Password information from the main homepage.

3. On your mobile device, open your web browser and enter the address https://www.isabelhealthcare.com.

login screen for Isabel database


 

 

 

 

 

4. Enter the UIC Library provided Mobile Access Username and Password.  Check the "remember me" box and log in

 

Sign in for Isabel database screenshot


To have quick access to Isabel, you may want to save a shortcut onto your home screen.  Here are guides for iPhone/iPad, Windows, & Androids systems to add a webpage to the home screen of a mobile device.

UpToDate Anywhere App

UpToDate Anywhere provides information on more than 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 specialites.  UIC faculty, staff and students can create a personal account to download the mobile app for Android, iOS and Windows 8 devices. 

To learn more about creating an account, check out the following Slide Share presentation.  If you have any issues with accessing UpToDate, please contact Ask-a-Librarian.