Subject and Course Guides: Pharmacy: Web Resources

Web Resource: Topics A-M

Accreditation of Health Care Organizations

Joint Commission of Accreditation of Health Care Organizations
Homepage of JCAHO. Provides information about Joint Commission’s accreditation certification for hospital to nursing homes, hospital accreditation standards, and hospital measurements, and annual hospital’s performance reports.
Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites
A program of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy. An organization that accredits internet pharmacies according to the NABP compliance and VIPP criteria validation of quality.

Cardiology

American College of Chest Physicians
Provides clinical guidelines on disease states such as pulmonary disease, infections, and critical care; contains patient education resources, CHEST publication journals.
Credible Meds
Provides lists of drugs known to prolong the Q-T interval and/or induce Torsades de Pointes. Drugs are stratified into one of four risk categories based on risk. The list is frequently updated and contains comments as to the severity of the effect.
The Heart (Medscape Cardiology)
A Medscape website that contains cardiology daily articles, cardiology research news, and medication news, and links to cardiology journal articles.

Community Pharmacy Practice

ACIP - Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices
The Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) is a group of medical and public health experts that develops vaccine recommendations in the United States.
CDC Vaccines & Immunizations
Comprehensive government website on news, guidelines, vaccine schedules, and safety regarding immunizations.
NCPIE - National Council on Patient Information & Education
This is a coalition working to communicate information on the appropriate and safe use of medicines to consumers and health care professionals.

Clinical Trials and Drug Development & Approvals

Clinicaltrials.gov
A service of the National Institutes of Health that contains information on current publicly and privately run clinical trials for multiple disease states. Site has information on how to find a clinical trial and information for submitting clinical trial.
Drugs @FDA
Contains approval documents and packet insert changes on FDA approved drugs. Also contains some information from the clinical trials associated with it.
Daily Med
Contains information about FDA approved drugs including prescribing information (PIs) and labels. Site allows searches for drugs approved for both humans and animals.
FDA Orange Book
FDA site that contains information about approved drug products and their therapeutic equivalents. Also contains information about drug patents.
FDA Purple Book
FDA site that contains information about FDA approved biological and biosimilar products as well as interchangeable biological products.
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
Organization that represents many biopharmaceutical research companies. Site contains information on drugs in development and the drug development and approval process as well as information and resources on current public policy, patient medication support resources, and ongoing clinical trials.

Federal Agencies

CDC - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Site contains the on-line version of Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, Emerging Infectious Disease journal, information on traveler’s health, emergency preparedness, CDC prevention guidelines, and workplace safety.
FDA - Food and Drug Administration
Contains consumer drug information, information on the MedWatch reporting program, orphan drug news, the electronic orange book of therapeutic equivalence, drug shortages, and information on foods, human drugs, animal drugs, biologics, and cosmetics.

Guidelines

ECRI Guidelines Trust
ECRI Guidelines Trust is an interactive guideline portal, puts current, evidence-based clinical practice guideline summaries directly into the hands of clinicians, researchers, medical librarians, and patients.

Note: users will have to create a free account through ECRI to view the content.
Trip Pro
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.

Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:

Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS
Essential Evidence Plus
Current answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. You must register for an account using your uic.edu email in order to access Essential Evidence Plus.
Essential Evidence Plus allows physicians to help keep current and answer clinical medicine questions at the point of care with the right information. Podcasts of weekly InfoPOEMs are also available.

Healthcare Fraud

Quackwatch
Web-based guide to health care fraud, fads, myths, and more.

Hospital Pharmacy Practice

ASHP Drug Shortages
Site provides information on drug shortages, drugs no longer available, no commercial drugs preps, and drug shortage management.
FDA Drug shortages
Site provides information on manufacturer drug shortages; information tracked by the FDA.
ASHP Policy, Positions, & Guidelines
Site provides professional policies guidelines and policy positions as developed by ASHP. Includes information about best practices from automation to formulary management.

Infectious Disease

AIDS Treatment Information Service
Site contains current federally approved HIV/AIDS practice guidelines. Also has information about HIV/AIDS ongoing clinical trials, health topics, HIV/AIDS drugs, and education materials.
American Thoracic Society
Contains statements and position papers in reference to microbiology, tuberculosis, and other pulmonary infections; also contains information on adult and pediatric respiratory diseases and links to ATS practice guidelines.
Infectious Diseases Society Of America (IDSA)
Site contains IDSA practice guidelines, infectious disease news information, and policy and advocacy information.

Medication Safety

Drug Safety Labeling Changes (SLC)
Database that tracks all labeling changes related to safety of medications.
FDA MedWatch
Site contains information concerning safety information and adverse event reports of human medical products. A reporting of adverse events can also be done at the site.
Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP)
Site contains the ISMP Medication Safety Alert newsletter, ISMP guidelines, medication safety resources (including High-Alert Medications) and information on medication error reporting.
Latexdrugs.com
Site contains links to websites with information on latex allergies. Latexdrugs.com database itself requires a subscription (UIC DIG has a subscription) though a limited access to the site can be utilized via the “Guest Entry.”
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
Site provides information about preventing occupational exposure or injuries in the workplace for individuals working with chemicals.
more...less...
(PDF)
REMS database
Database contains information on approved Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies (REMS) for medications.
VeganMed
A pharmacist-led organization that certifies products to be animal-free.

Web Resources: Topics N-Z

Natural Medicines

Medline Herbs and Supplements
Site provides information on dietary supplements and herbals in terms of their effectiveness, dose, and drug interactions
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Site provides information and research about complementary medicine practices including evidence-based medicine and practice guidelines. Also provides patient resources such as finding a practitioner.

Pharmacy/Medical News Updates

Hospital Pharmacy
Hospital pharmacy journal link. Electronic access from 2013 to present. Print collection from 1966. Can request print via ILL and a digital copy will be sent.
Pharmacy Times
Site provides clinical resources for different disease states, pharmacy daily news and trends, and online CE all focused on community pharmacy.
Pharmacist's Letter
Site provides practice guidelines for different disease states as well as disease-state charts, patient education, medication guides, and formulary/drug comparisons. On-line version of Pharmacist’s Letter; available to all subscribers via personal login and ID.
Amedeo
Site provides medical literature guides; it also offers weekly bibliographic lists of publications and other web resources.

Medical Letter
Objective, peer-reviewed evaluations of new FDA-approved drugs, and new information on previously approved drugs.
The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and more...(New Rochelle, NY) provides critical evaluations of drugs for physicians and other members of the health professions. Also online are Adverse Drug Interactions, a browser-based program for selecting up to 12 drugs and generating a report about potential adverse interactions; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, regularly updated and now in e-book (PDF) format.

U.S. Pharmacist
It is a "monthly journal dedicated to providing the nation's pharmacists with up-to-date, authoritative, peer-reviewed clinical articles relevant to contemporary pharmacy practice in a variety of settings."
Medscape
A WebMD product that offers integrated medical information and educational tools. Site provides top medical news, drug and disease resources such as drug interaction checker, disease state information, and more.

Oncology

American Society of Clinical Oncology
Site provides ASCO practice guidelines for cancer treatment, research news and journals, and advocacy and policy information.
Cleveland Clinic Cancer Center
Site contains patient information consisting of chemotherapy drug monographs, recommendations on managing chemotherapy side effects, nutrition, and more. Site is available in many languages through Google translation.
National Comprehensive Cancer Network
“The National Comprehensive Cancer Network® (NCCN®), a not-for-profit alliance of 27 of the world's leading cancer centers devoted to patient care, research, and education, is dedicated to improving the quality, effectiveness, and efficiency of cancer care so that patients can live better lives.” Site provides NCCN guidelines, patient resources, and more.

Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition

American Society of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN)
Web site contains guidelines for use of parenteral and enteral nutrition in adult and pediatric patients and standards of practice; membership required
Safe use of parenteral nutrition
Nutrition Support Resources

Site contains practice guidelines and healthcare resources on parenteral nutrition products.

Pediatrics

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)
The AAP site contains useful information on pediatric issues including news releases, guidelines, and policy statements (e.g. circumcision, ADHD, urinary tract infections, acute otitis media, febrile seizures, Lyme disease, and vaccines).

Pharmacy Compounding

International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding
Journal is a bi-monthly professional scientific journal focused on pharmaceutical compounding. Journal is available electronically but requires a subscription; hard copies available in UIC DIG.
Dalhousie University Compounding Website
Site contains helpful links to drug Information resources for healthcare professionals and students.
The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) Compounding Service
Site contains compounding recipe resources for liquid formulations for pediatric patients.
IWK Compounding Formulas
This website replaces the Pocket Book of Extemporaneous Formulations last published in 2006. The site contains compounding recipes and resources; site information has been developed specifically for the IWK Health Centre.

Pharmcogenetics

Clinical Pharmcogenetics Implementation Consortium
CPIC’s goal is to address this barrier to clinical implementation of pharmacogenetic tests by creating, curating, and posting freely available, peer-reviewed, evidence-based, updatable, and detailed gene/drug clinical practice guidelines.

Poisoning

Illinois Poison Center
“A non-profit health service that provides those who live and work in Illinois with access to comprehensive and trusted information and treatment advice on potentially harmful substances by confidential 24-hour hotline.”
Poisindex (through Micromedex)
Site contains a search tool for researching drug products by brand name, generics, commercial and household products, chemicals, active ingredients, plant or animal substances, or slang terms. Also can search by product NDC or product ID.
Livertox
Site contains information and resources on “diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.” Also contains a registry for reporting cases of liver injury.

Pregnancy and lactation

ACOG - American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
Resources on practice, advocacy, research, and publications relating to pregnancy and women's health. Membership is needed to access guidelines.
LactMed
Database with information on drugs and chemicals that breastfeeding mothers might be exposed to and includes information on breast milk to infant ratio.
American Academy of Pediatrics: Policy on Breastfeeding and Use of Human Milk
American Academy of Pediatrics statement on breastfeeding, including contraindications and medication guidance.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Pharmacy: Web Resources

Web Resource: Topics A-M

Web Resources: Topics N-Z

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library