Recommended Databases
Go to the Health Sciences Databases page or the UIC Library Database A to Z list for additional databases.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- HAPI: Health and Psychosocial Instruments :Information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests). Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- MEDLINE through Ovid (1947 to Present)National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
- MEDLINE via PubMed@UICPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations and additional life sciences books and databases. From mid-1960s to present.
- PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- ScopusScopus contains over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide with 49 million records, 78% with abstracts. It Includes over 5.3 million conference papers and provides 100% Medline coverage with interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys,
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Trip Pro
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS - Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
E-Journals at UIC
Library Toolbox
Find books and more with UIC Library Search:
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested by selecting All I-Share Libraries.
Find full text
Search for E-journals, Magazines, Newspapers or E-books
links to full text information from within library database results.
My Account
Connect to My Account in UIC Library Search.
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.
RefWorks
Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with
