MY NCBI, NIH Biosketch, & SciENcv: My NCBI & My Bibliography

My Bibliography (part of MyNCBI)  is a tool that allows you to save your citations from PubMed, or citations entered manually, to a single list that if you wish, can be shared via download or a publicly accessible link.  When creating a NIH Biosketch using the SciENcv tool, you can easily add the public link to this bibliography. The My Bibliography tool also allows you to monitor your NIH Public Access policy compliance.

My Bibliography allows you to save references to your own publications in a bibliography. There are two ways to create a bibliography. The first is to add citations directly from PubMed and the second is to add citations manually.

Adding Citations from PubMed

1. Log on to My NCBI.
2. On the My NCBI page, scroll to the Search NCBI Databases section.
3. On the Search drop-down list, select PubMed, if its not already selected. 
4. Perform your search in the text box provided in order to bring up the desired article(s).
   • You can search by author, title, or keyword.
5. Click the check box next to the citation(s) you want to add to your bibliography.
6. Click Send To.
7. In the Choose Destination box, click My Bibliography, and then click Add to My Bibliography.
8. On the Save to Bibliography page, click Save.
   • The default setting will save the citation to My Bibliography. If you wish to save the citation to a separate bibliography, click Other Citations, and then click Save.

Adding Citations Not Found in PubMed from a database or Reference Management tool (Endnote, Refworks, Zotero) 

1. Download / export the appropriate citations in RIS form  (.ris)
2. Log on to My NCBI. 
3. Scroll down to the My Bibliography section and then click Manage my Bibliography.
4. In the Display Settings box, click Add Citation. and click From a File
5. Select the RIS (.ris) file you wish to import 
6. Click Open

Adding Citations Not Found in PubMed Manually

1. Download / export the appropriate citations in RIS form  (.ris)
2. Log on to My NCBI. 
3. Scroll down to the My Bibliography section and then click Manage my Bibliography.
4. In the Display Settings box, click Add Citation.
5. On the Choose the type of citation drop-down list, select the type of citation to enter manually. Options include:
   • Manual citation for article that do not appear in PubMed.
   • Books and chapters
   • Meeting abstracts
   • Patents
6. Type the publication information in the fields provided. Required fields are indicated with a red asterisk.
7. Click Add Citation.

Link your bibliography to your eRA Commons account in order to see if your publications are in compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy.

In NCBI, click on Manage My Bibliography.   Where it says at the top - "This Bibliography is private" - click on "make it public" to make it public.