MY NCBI, NIH Biosketch, & SciENcv: About My NCBI

• My NCBI
  My Bibliography is embedded in the My NCBI home page
• eRA Commons
  eRA Commons allows institutional signing officials, PIs, trainees & post-docs to access & share administrative info re: research grants

• NIH Manuscript Submission System​

  ​​SciENcv & NIH Biosketches

• My NCBI Help
  A free My NCBI account is required to use My Bibliography with your eRA Commons account. Here are instructions on accessing My NCBI and creating an account.
• Managing Compliance to the NIH Public Access Policy
  Explains how to use the Award feature to check the compliance status of your publications
• Collaborating with PIs and Co-Authors
  Associate papers with NIH grants, monitor compliance, and simplify reporting

My NCBI is a tool that retains user information and database preferences to provide customized services for many NCBI databases. It allows you to save searches, select display formats, filtering options, and set up automatic searches that are sent by e-mail.  My NCBI includes additional features that allow for setting up preferences for displaying and filtering search results, highlighting search terms and setting LinkOut, Outside Tool and Document Delivery preferences.

• My Bibliography: Creating a Bibliography in MyNCBI

• Connecting My NCBI with your eRA Commons account

• Making My Bibliography Public

• Adding Delegates to My Bibliography

• ​​SciENcv & NIH Biosketches

Connecting your My Bibliography to your eRA Commons account will allow you to see whether your publications comply with the NIH Public Access Policy. It will also populate the Research Support section of your Biosketch.

To connect your MyNCBI and eRA Commons accounts:

1. Log on to My NCBI. If you do not have a MyNCBI account you need to create one.
2. Click on your login name, located in the upper right hand corner of the screen.
3. On the NCBI Account Settings page, scroll down to the Linked Accounts section, and then click Change.
4. In the Login Account Options box, scroll down to and click NIH & eRA Commons.
5. Log on to your eRA Commons account.

Please note - Even if you log on to MyNCBI with your eRA Commons username and password, you may still have to link your eRA Commons account to your MyNCBI account.

In MyNCBI, click on Manage My Bibliography.   Where it says at the top - "This Bibliography is private" - click on "make it public" to make it public.

In My NCBI, you can assign others as delegates, giving them permission to edit your My Bibliography and SciENcv profiles.

To add a delegate, go to your NCBI Account Settings page by clicking on your username in the top right corner of the page. There is a section for managing your delegates. Click Add a Delegate and enter the email address of the person you would like to give access to. Once they have accepted the delegate role for your account, you can assign them access to your My Bibliography and/or your SciENcv profiles.