Subject and Course Guides: Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM): Databases

Library Databases

Go to the Health Sciences Databases page or the UIC Library Database A to Z list for additional databases.

AGRICOLA
Agricola presents over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, theses, patents, software, and technical reports related to agriculture from 1979 to the present.
Consumer Health Complete - EBSCOhost
Consumer-oriented coverage of all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Consumer Health Complete is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. It includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis.
EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.

Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.
EMBASE is an abstract and indexing database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. It currently contains more than 15 million records from Excerpta Medica Database (1974 to present) and selected Medline records (1966-present). Currently the Library does not own the archives of Embase from 1947 to 1973.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information including reference books, reports and pamphlets, drug information and more.
This database is a rich collection of consumer health information including health reference books, reports and pamphlets, drug information and more.
NatMed Pro
Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.
PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Guide Author

Rebecca Raszewski

Contact Info:
LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-2759
raszewr1@uic.edu
Skype: raszewr1

Additional Databases

Go to the Health Sciences Databases page or the UIC Library Database A to Z list for additional databases.

ClincalTrials.gov
Find trials for a specific medical condition or other criteria in the ClinicalTrials.gov registry.
more...less...
ClinicalTrials.gov offers up-to-date information for locating federally and privately supported clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions. A clinical trial (also clinical research) is a research study in human volunteers to answer specific health questions. Interventional trials determine whether experimental treatments or new ways of using known therapies are safe and effective under controlled environments. Observational trials address health issues in large groups of people or populations in natural settings.

ClinicalTrials.gov currently contains 69,844 trials sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry. Studies listed in the database are conducted in all 50 States and in 162 countries ClinicalTrials.gov receives over 40 million page views per month 50,000 visitors daily.
HerbMed
more...less...
HerbMed is provided by the Alternative Medicine Foundation. This interactive database provides information about the twenty most popular herbs. HerbMed also has an enhanced version for a subscription, HerbMedPro.
Index to American Botanical Literature
more...less...
The searchable database includes all those entries published in the Index since 1996, and thus includes botanical literature appearing since late 1995. The Index contains entries dealing with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany (publications dealing with botanists, herbaria, etc.). "America" is defined in the broadest possible sense, encompassing land and marine plants and fungi from Greenland to Antarctica. American territory outside this area, e.g., Hawaii, is not included.
Index to Chiropractic Literature
more...less...
The Index to Chiropractic Literature indexes peer-reviewed literature from chiropractic publishers and a few non-peer reviewed items as well. Selected articles are available online for free which is noted in the item's record.
PDQ (Physician's Data Query)
more...less...
"PDQ (Physician Data Query) is NCI's comprehensive cancer database. It contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, and supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine."

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM): Databases

Library Databases

Guide Author

Contact Info:
LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-2759
raszewr1@uic.edu
Skype: raszewr1

Additional Databases

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM): Databases

Library Databases

Guide Author

Contact Info: LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-2759 raszewr1@uic.edu Skype: raszewr1

Additional Databases

Contact Info:
LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-2759
raszewr1@uic.edu
Skype: raszewr1