Subject and Course Guides: Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM): Finding Books

Books and More

Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested via the CARLI I-Share Catalog.

E-Books Collections

AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files.
AccessPharmacy
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
This is an online curricular resource designed for pharmacy education that contains 24 core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
AccessSurgery
McGraw-Hill's AccessSurgery.com is a knowledge environment organized around the ACGME core curriculum for surgery. Includes captions.
McGraw-Hill's AccessSurgery.com is an integrated online resource organized around the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) mandate for a Core Curriculum.

* Surgical Videos: Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
* Surgical Animations: Adapted from Zollinger’s Atlas of Surgical Operations, 8th Edition
* Textbooks: Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery, 8th Edition
* CURRENT Surgical Diagnosis & Treatment, 12th Edition
* Surgical Atlas: Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, 8th Edition
* Surgical Anatomy: Skandalakis’ Surgical Anatomy
* Board Review: Surgery Review Illustrated and Schwartz's Principles of Surgery: Self-Assessment and Board Review, 8th Edition
* Quick Answers: CURRENT Consult Surgery
Books@Ovid
Selected ebooks in medicine, nursing, pharmacology and anesthesiology.
Books@Ovid includes the full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics.
Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
Ebook Central
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
NCBI Bookshelf
Free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
R2 Digital Library
Provides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works.
The Rittenhouse Publishing R2 Library provides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works. The Library licenses two simultaneous users per book. After 15 minutes, your search session will expire, so you might want to create a login and save any results you need. You may print up to 10 sections or chapters per session. Do not attempt to download the entire contents of these books.
SAGE Reference E-Books
Growing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
This is a portal to over 60 topical and subject encyclopedias online.
ScienceDirect
A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Wiley InterScience Online Books
The titles with unlock symbol are the ones that are available to UIC Library.

Finding CAM Books in the Library

To find books by title, author, or subject, search our Library Catalog.

Most books at the Library of the Health Sciences are shelved by the National Library of Medicine Classification system. Most books written specifically about complementary and alternative medicine are usually classified "WB". Here is a select list of where you can find books related to complementary and alternative medicine:

QU 145.5 Dietary Supplements.
QU 160-220 Vitamins.
QV 766-770 Medicinal Plants.
WB 369 Acupuncture.
WB 400-449 Diet and Nutrition.
WB 535 Musculoskeletal Manipulations.
WB 537 Massage.
WB 550 Therapeutic Use of Music.
WB 880-962 Complementary and Alternative Therapies.
WM 450 Art Therapies.

Your browser is unsupported

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM): Finding Books

Books and More

E-Books Collections

Finding CAM Books in the Library

Locations

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences-Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences-Rockford

Library of the Health Sciences-Urbana