Digital Access to City Documents
- City Council Minutes and Agendas1981-present
- City of Chicago Office of Budget and ManagementOBM prepares and implements the City of Chicago’s annual budget and has budgets from 2011-present.
- City of Chicago Municipal CodeThe Municipal Code is a published compilation of City laws and their revisions organized according to subject matter (arranged by title, chapter and section). The Municipal Code is updated periodically as new ordinances are adopted by the City Council.
- City of Chicago CAFR - Comprehensive Annual Financial ReportsCAFR - Comprehensive Annual Financial Reports from the office of the comptroller.
- City of Chicago WebpageInformation is available sorted by department, including annual reports listed in Supporting Information for each department, as available.
- Chicago Open Data PortalData from the city of Chicago
- Chicago Freedom of Information Act Central PageThe Illinois Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) makes government more transparent to the citizens of Illinois by guaranteeing access to government records in the form in which they are maintained.
Third Party City Information
- 2nd City Zoning2nd City Zoning is an interactive map that lets you:
-find out how your building is zoned
-learn where to locate your business
-explore zoning patterns throughout the city
Physical Documents
UIC has served as a depository for Chicago City and Cook County documents in the past and has a legacy collection of City Documents. Documents are cataloged in ishare and are available on the 3rd floor of the Daley Library under the call numbers beginning with ILL/Chi for Chicago and ILL/CC for Cook County.
Additionally, the Library has a number of Chicago Government related documents in storage, these are searchable in the catalog and can be requested.
- FOIA Guide from the city governmentA list of the documents typically maintained by each Department for FOIA, and most popularly-requested.
Microform Documents
There are a number of significant microform collections of City Documents, some officially published by the City, some by the federal government related to local content, some by independent agencies.This collection features content from the following sources and others.
Cook County Illinois Documents 1972-1999
Northeastern Illinois Planning Commission
Chicago City Directories 1839-1923
US Census Rolls for Chicagoland 1840-1920
These items are located on the 2nd floor of the Daley Library in the Southwest corner of the microform section.
Cook County Documents
- Cook County BudgetThe official page for the Cook County Budget, archives are available back to 2002.
- Cook County Comptroller- CAFRThe County prepares an Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) in accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP). GAAP require that management provide a narrative introduction, overview and analysis to accompany the basic financial statements in the form of a Management Discussion & Analysis (MD&A).
Archives back to 1998.
State Legal Resources
- Illinois.govIllinois.gov is the official site for the overall government of Illinois and includes general information about the branches of the Illinois government.
- Illinois General AssemblyThis site includes public acts from 1971-present as well as compiled statutes, legislative reports and bills and resolutions.
Other Guide
- NEIU Chicago City Government RecordsNEIU's research guide is a robust guide for Chicago Government Records.
Reference Librarian
801 S. Morgan St.
2-131 LIB
Chicago, IL 60607