Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or
Digital Access to City Documents
UIC has served as a depository for Chicago City and Cook County documents in the past and has a legacy collection of City Documents. Documents are cataloged in ishare and are available on the 3rd floor of the Daley Library under the call numbers beginning with ILL/Chi for Chicago and ILL/CC for Cook County.
Additionally, the Library has a number of Chicago Government related documents in storage, these are searchable in the catalog and can be requested.
There are a number of significant microform collections of City Documents, some officially published by the City, some by the federal government related to local content, some by independent agencies.This collection features content from the following sources and others.
Cook County Illinois Documents 1972-1999
Northeastern Illinois Planning Commission
Chicago City Directories 1839-1923
US Census Rolls for Chicagoland 1840-1920
These items are located on the 2nd floor of the Daley Library in the Southwest corner of the microform section.
Cook County Documents
Cook County Budget
The official page for the Cook County Budget, archives are available back to 2002.
Cook County Comptroller- CAFR
The County prepares an Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) in accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP). GAAP require that management provide a narrative introduction, overview and analysis to accompany the basic financial statements in the form of a Management Discussion & Analysis (MD&A).
Archives back to 1998.
State Legal Resources
Illinois.gov is the official site for the overall government of Illinois and includes general information about the branches of the Illinois government.
Illinois General Assembly
This site includes public acts from 1971-present as well as compiled statutes, legislative reports and bills and resolutions.