Skip to Main Content

History: Video

American History and World History Video

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
The Library of Congress and GBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. Approximately 40,000 hours of programs selected by more than 100 public broadcasting stations throughout the nation. Dating from the 1940s to the 21st century and emanating from all regions of the nation, these programs will be available to scholars, researchers, educators, students, and the general public at the Library’s audiovisual research centers and at GBH.

Docuseek2
Docuseek 2 is a platform for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films. It provides access to over 750 documentaries covering a wide variety of subjects including social issues, sustainability, the environment, and many more. Includes captions.
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy provides students access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable. If you are a faculty member who needs a film activated for a class, please use the request form in Kanopy. Please include the class name and number, and the date the film is needed.
PBS Video Collection
The PBS Video Collection includes selected documentary films and programs produced by the Public Broadcasting Service. The content spans a wide range of subjects including history, science, biographies, current events, etc. Includes films by Ken Burns, Michael Wood, and series such as NOVA, Nature, America Experience, and more. Includes captions and transcripts.