Subject and Course Guides: History: Government Documents

United States Census, 1790-2010

U.S. Census, 1790-2010
Click on the link above to find information about and the reports resulting from each decennial census of the United States.

Congressional Documents

Congressional Record
Official record of the proceedings and debates of the U.S. Congress. From 1994 to present. Updated daily when Congress is in session.
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. GPO Access contains Congressional Record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.

The current year’s Congressional Record database is usually updated daily by 11 a.m., except when a late adjournment delays production of the issue.
HeinOnline
Containing more than 160 million pages and 200,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
ProQuest Congressional Publications includes Congressional hearings, reports, and documents and the U.S. Serials Set and the American State Papers as well as the Congressional Record and its predecessors. Coverage begins in 1789 and is most complete through 1969. See also U.S. Congressional Serials Set.
ProQuest Congressional Publications (1789-1969) is an collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. The U.S. Congressional Serial Set does not normally include the text of debates, bills, resolutions, hearings, and committee prints, unless specifically ordered to be included by Congress. Specifically, this collection contains, retrospectively, up to 180 years of the following types of publications:

Congressional journals, and administrative reports, directories, manuals, and related internal publications.
Annually submitted reports from Federal executive agencies reviewing current problems and activities under agency purview.
Extended series of survey, research and statistical publications developed by executive agencies.
Selected annual or special reports of nongovernmental agencies.

Formerly Classified Documents

ProQuest History Vault
Includes OSS, CIA, and other military and foreign policy branches of U.S. government papers and records.

Chicago City Council Proceedings

Chicago City Council Proceedings Index (1833 - 1871)
Proceedings of the City Council before the Great Fire of 1871.
This database provides access to the working papers of the Chicago City Council for the period before the Great Fire. Until their rediscovery in 1983, these files were presumed to have been destroyed in that catastrophe.
Chicago City Council Proceedings (1981 - Present)
The official record of each regularly scheduled City Council meeting.
The official record of City Council meetings and reflects all legislative actions. The Journal of the Proceedings is published prior to the next regularly scheduled City Council meeting.

Illinois Documents

Records of the Illinois General Assembly, 1971 -
More information is available for recent than for earlier General Assemblies. Types of content may include votes of the Senate and roll calls of the House, Public Acts, lists of members, and transcripts of floor debates.
Laws of Illinois (digital resource)
Western Illinois University Libraries and Illinois State Library have digitized many volumes of the Laws of Illinois.
more...less...
Some volumes are also available through Google Books and the Hathi Trust Digital Library. In most cases, the text of individual volumes can be searched. Indexes to the Laws of Illinois have been digitized by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and the Illinois State Library.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

History: Government Documents

United States Census, 1790-2010

Congressional Documents

Formerly Classified Documents

Chicago City Council Proceedings

Illinois Documents

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library