Subject and Course Guides: History: Newspapers

Recommended Historical Newspapers & Databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Access to historical issues of major newspapers from the United States (including important Black-owned newspapers), Israel, China, Korea, Ireland, India, Canada, and the United Kingdom. After 2022, the library will subscribe to some of the best-used titles
The Times (London) Digital Archive
Complete digital archives of The Times (1785-1985). May not be compatible with Mozilla Firefox.
UIC users can search through the complete digital archives of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
World Newspaper Archive
A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from the 18th century to 1922 created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries. UIC's subscription includes: America's Historical Newspapers and Latin American Newspapers. No holdings after 1922.
America's Historical newspapers consists of Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876. Latin American Newspapers contains more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Recent ethnic newspapers and scholarly publications in Black Studies, Latin American and Latino Studies, Global Asian Studies, Jewish Studies and many other topics going back to about 1990 in many cases
The general categories of ethnic groups represented in the Ethnic NewsWatch database are:
*African American/Caribbean/African
*Arab/Middle Eastern
*Asian/Pacific Island
*European/Eastern European
*Hispanic
*Jewish
*Multi-ethnic
*Native People
GenderWatch
Recent feminist newspapers and magazines as well as scholarly gender studies articles going back to the 1970s
This is a full text database that focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Other Historical Newspapers

ABI/INFORM Global
Includes the last 35+ years of the Wall Street Journal, the Atlantic & Foreign Affairs
Accessible Archives
Accessible Archives offers access to primary source material from prior to 1900 that has been fully digitized and is full-text searchable. To view the collections UIC subscribes to, see more .
UIC's subscription includes access to the following:

African American Newspapers, Parts 1-12S
The Christian Recorder
The Colored American/Weekly Advocate
Frederick Douglass’ Paper
Freedom’s Journal
The National Era
The North Star
Provincial Freeman
Civil War, Parts 1-4
Part I: A Newspaper Perspective
Part II: The Soldiers’ Perspective
Part III: The Generals’ Perspective
Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective
Part V. Iowa's Perspective
Part VI. Northeast Regimental Histories
Frank Leslie’s Weekly, Parts 1-14
Godey’s Lady’s Book, Parts 1-9
The Virginia Gazette, Parts 1-5
Women’s Suffrage (free)
Part I: The Lily
Part II: National Citizen and Ballot Box
Part III: The Revolution
America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past, and includes Early American Newspapers Series 1, 6 and 7, which cover dates from 1690-1922.
America's Historical Newspapers contains Early American Newspapers, which is a digital collection of colonial and early national period newspapers with over two million issues from American colonies and states from the 17th to the early 20th centuries. The web version contains digital images of each page, searchable OCR text corresponds to each image, and format to allow easy magnification.

They provide a primary source for research in history, political science, American Studies, and journalism.
American Indian Newspapers
American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, from 1828 to 2016.

Bangkok Post, 1973-1976
Digital scans of 3 years of the Bangkok Post in English from the Center for Research Libraries. Select UIC as your institution to login.

Black Life in America Series 3: 1976-Today (NewsBank)
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Updated daily with new content, Series 3 is essential for navigating the arc of African American history from 1704 through the present day. Some content has captions and transcripts.
British Newspapers (1600-1900)
Digitized British historic newspapers with curatorial materials from Gale Artemis Primary Sources. This database may not be compatible with Mozilla Firefox.
A significant digital collection of British historic newspapers. In addition one will find essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis.

British Newspaper Archive (British Library)
British Newspaper Archive contains around three million pages of newspaper content from the 1700s to the present from the British Library
Chicago Foreign Language Press Survery (Newberry)
120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities of Chicago from 1855 to 1938 by the Works Progress Administration of Illinois.

Chicago Sun-Times Historical Archive, 1929-1985
Research Chicago history through the Chicago Sun-Times Historical Archive. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical full newspaper pages from 1929 through 1985.
Economist Historical Archive (1843 to 3 years ago)
The Economist has presented global news since 1843. The Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue from 1843 to 3 years ago as a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. May not be compatible with Firefox.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2008. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

El Mundo Digital Archive
Conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico founded in 1919 widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990
Hemerotica Nacional Digital de Mexico
672 publicly available digitized newspapers and periodicals from 1722 to the present
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Digital U.S. newspapers from 1777-1963 provided by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) and Library of Congress
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Imperial Russian Newspapers
Chronicles 189 years of Russian history through out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. Core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
Over 1,000 titles from Mexico's pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news

Kobe University Library Newspaper Clippings Collection
Japanese newspaper clippings from 1912-1944

Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
Provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century.
Latin American Newspapers
Growing collection of Latin American and Caribbean historical newspapers in a partnership between Center for Research Libraries and Newsbank to preserve and provide persistent access to historical newspapers from around the globe.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
Nineteenth century to present. Key topics include colonialism, the Ottoman Empire, Suez Crisis, Cold War, petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, World Wars, state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and Arab Spring. NOTE: registration is required to download PDFs.

Münchener Digitalisierungs Zentrum (MDZ)
1.2 million pages are available in digiPress, the newspaper portal of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek. The historic newspaper portal now includes more than 7.8 million digitized pages.

Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
Full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers in 19th century Great Britain. May not be compatible with Mozilla Firefox.
19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers are captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration. May not be compatible with Mozilla Firefox.
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

Old Hong Kong Newspapers
The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.

Seventeenth & Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Collection of 17th and 18th century English news media, published mostly in London, some provincial, Irish and Scottish, and a few colonial. May not be compatible with Mozilla Firefox.
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few from the American colonies, Europe and India.

Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin Digitalisierten Zeitungen
Almost 200 historical newspapers from Germany and German newspapers abroad from the 17th-20th centuries

Virginia Gazette
The Virginia Gazette was the first newspaper published in Virginia and the first to be published in the area south of the Potomac River in the colonial period of the United States.
Published weekly in Williamsburg, VA between 1736 and 1780, The Virginia Gazette contained news covering all of Virginia and also included information from other colonies, Scotland, England and additional countries.

L'Emeroteca Digitale (Braidense National Library, Milan)
Initiative promoted by the Biblioteca Nazionale Braidense to digitally publish historical periodicals of interest for the history and culture of Italy. 960 newspapers for a total of approximately one and a half million pages. Access to documents is subject to acceptance of the terms of use provided by law.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

History: Newspapers

Recommended Historical Newspapers & Databases

Other Historical Newspapers

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library