Evidence Based Medicine
For more information about Evidence Based Medicine, visit our Evidence Based Medicine Research Guide (link provided below) for tutorials about EBM and resources for finding appropriate scientific literature.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature
You can access the electronic book of The Users' Guides to the Medical Literature through the database JAMA Evidence. This book provided guidance on how to read and appraise research methodologies for practices within medicine.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by ISBN: 9780071790710Publication Date: 2014-12-30
- JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. Includes captions and transcripts.
Summarized Evidence
- Isabel Clinical Decision Support
Physicians around the world use Isabel to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis. By entering the information normally captured in a patient workup, Isabel provides physicians with a list of possible diagnoses to help them construct their thinking and make an accurate final diagnosis quickly and easily at the point of care.
- Essential Evidence PlusCurrent answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. You must register for an account using your uic.edu email in order to access Essential Evidence Plus.
- UpToDate
UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.
- ClinicalKey Practice GuidelinesUse the specialties filter to limit to Pediatric guidelines.
Preappraised Evidence
- Cochrane LibraryA large database housing the Cochrane Collaboration's Systematic Reviews and Register of Controlled Trials which contains independent medical evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
- Cincinnati Children's Hospital: EB Care GuidelinesThese care recommendations are produced as Best Evidence Statements (BESt) and Care Guidelines. The scope of a BESt is smaller than a clinical practice guideline. A BESt contains clinical recommendations based on best evidence on a limited topic or single clinical question. The BESt also depends more on synthesized evidence, such as published guidelines and other systematic reviews when available, than on primary research.
Non-preappraised Evidence
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- Trip Pro
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS - EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.