Skip to Main Content

Government Information

A compilation of web sites and databases for accessing government information and publications.

Articles

Nexis Uni
New version of Lexis Nexis Academic. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and full-text law review articles. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.
Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS Index)
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
This database is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. Coverage includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.

Government Information & Publications

Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial ed.
Quantitative facts about American history. Provides downloadable data sets, with introductions and analysis by experts.
Historical Statistics of the U.S. (Millennial Edition, published 2006) presents quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, from earliest time to the present.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
ProQuest Congressional Publications includes Congressional hearings, reports, and documents and the U.S. Serials Set and the American State Papers as well as the Congressional Record and its predecessors. Coverage begins in 1789 and is most complete through 1969. See also U.S. Congressional Serials Set.
ProQuest Congressional Publications (1789-1969) is an collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. The U.S. Congressional Serial Set does not normally include the text of debates, bills, resolutions, hearings, and committee prints, unless specifically ordered to be included by Congress. Specifically, this collection contains, retrospectively, up to 180 years of the following types of publications:

Congressional journals, and administrative reports, directories, manuals, and related internal publications.
Annually submitted reports from Federal executive agencies reviewing current problems and activities under agency purview.
Extended series of survey, research and statistical publications developed by executive agencies.
Selected annual or special reports of nongovernmental agencies.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, surveys, research and statistical series published by Congress and Federal executive agencies; compiled under directive of the Congress.

Note: Also includes ProQuest Congressional Record
The U.S. Congressional Serials Set (1789-1969) is an collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. The U.S. Congressional Serial Set does not normally include the text of debates, bills, resolutions, hearings, and committee prints, unless specifically ordered to be included by Congress. Specifically, this collection contains, retrospectively, up to 180 years of the following types of publications:

Congressional journals, and administrative reports, directories, manuals, and related internal publications.
Annually submitted reports from Federal executive agencies reviewing current problems and activities under agency purview.
Extended series of survey, research and statistical publications developed by executive agencies.
Selected annual or special reports of nongovernmental agencies.

Includes the following collections:
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Maps Digital Collection
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part A 1970-1979
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part B 1980-1989
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part C 1990-2003
ProQuest U.S. Serial Set 2 Digital Collection Part D 2004-2010