Background information and Reference
- Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford (formerly Grove) Dictionary of Art Online plus image links cross-referenced to art galleries and museums. Access doesn't include Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- International Encyclopedia of Art and Design EducationCovers historical and contemporary art and design education topics. Written in conjunction with the National Society for Education in Art and Design.
- Encyclopaedia Brittanica OnlineAdditional research tools include: Merriam-Webster’s dictionary and thesaurus, Quotable Quotes, and more.
More Encyclopedias and Dictionaries - Art & Architecture
- American Colonial Women and Their Art : A Chronological EncyclopediaEbook, published in 2018
- Critical Terms for Art History, 2nd editionThirty-nine original essays explaining and commenting on a single term, with the goal of stimulating theoretical issues in art history for both beginning students and scholars. From Credo Reference.
- Dictionary of Visual Discourse: A Dialectical Lexicon of TermsExplores the languages and cultures of visual studies. Introduction to the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture. From Credo Reference.
- Encyclopedia of American Folk ArtEntries on all aspects of American folk art, including painting, sculpture, basketry, ceramics, quilts, furniture, toys, beadwork, and more. From Credo Reference.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and ArchitectureComprehensive reference source for the visual arts of the ancient Greek and Roman cultures. Entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. Includes biographies, bibliography, and illustrations. From Oxford Reference.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and ArchitectureOver 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe, spanning over a thousand years. From Oxford Reference.
- Thames & Hudson Dictionary of the Italian RenaissanceEntries covering music, architecture, war, diplomacy, religion, literature, social history, and visual arts
Art dictionaries - print
Artspoke by Call Number: N6447 A85 1993Publication Date: 1993Entries on movements and organizations, techniques, media, and philosophies of art making. Daley Library - Book Stacks
