Subject and Course Guides: Art and Art History: Photography Resources

Photography Background Information

Oxford Art Online
Over 6,000 searchable images from institutions such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, as well as 40,000 editorially selected image links to museums and galleries.
more...less...
Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Dictionary of Art Online)
Photographers' Identities Catalog (PIC)
Biographical data describing photographers, studios, manufacturers, and others involved in the production of photographic images. From the New York Public Library.
100 Ideas that Changed Photography
Describes the most influential ideas shaping the history of photography from the daguerreotype in the early 19th century to the digital revolution.
Ebook.

Photography Journals and articles

Exposure Magazine
from the Society for Photographic Education
Aperture Archive
The complete archive of Aperture magazine going back to 1952.
F-STOP
Links to numerous photography magazines- not all content is freely availailable. F-STOP has features on contemporary photographers.
Art & Architecture Archive
Backfiles (archives) of 65 journals including The British Journal of Photography and Popular Photography.
more...less...
NOTE: Trial access for three years (October 2019 - September 2022).

Photography Museums

Museum of Contemporary Photography, Columbia College Chicago
Under the museum's "Collection" menu, search the artists represented in the museum's permanent collection, view the Midwest Photographers Project, and participate in a tagging project. View digital exhibitions under the "Exhibitions" menu.
Eastman Museum
Museum holds extensive collections of 19th-century French and American photography and 20th-century photography. Also streaming digitized films, and a blog.
International Center of Photography, New York
Searchable collections and details about current and past exhibitions. The Center, established in 1974, is home to several major archival collections including the Weegee archive.
ICP Resource Directory
Links to museums in USA and beyond that support research on photography. Info about events and opportunities for photographers. Curated by the International Center of Photography (ICP), New York.

Freely Available Photography Images

Getty Search Gateway
Over 170,000 downloadable photographs from the J. Paul Getty Museum.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Offers a single point of access to millions of items from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Browse and search collections by timeline, map, and faceted search; explore digital exhibitions and more.
Unsplash
Over 1.5 million photos "to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, and use" for free, under the Unsplash license.

Check open access image databases for images that are freely available for re-use.

Check museum web sites as many of these sites contain photographs in addition to other types of artworks. Copyright restrictions may apply.

LinkedIn Learning video tutorials

Tutorials on photography skills, imaging software, web design software and much more are available free to the UIC community via LinkedIn Learning. Courses and videos include:

- Photography Foundations: Lenses
- Photoshop for Web Design
- Photoshop 2021 Essential Training: Photography
- Premiere Pro 2020 Essential Training
- InDesign 2021 Essential Training
- Street Photography
- Studio LIghting