Writing and Citation Resources
- The OWLThis Purdue University site offers a variety of resources, including tips for learning and using the APA, Chicago, and MLA styles. Expand the Research & Citation tab to see these.
- Writer Resources (from UIUC)Includes info on writing processes, academic writing, and long-term writing projects.
Citation Managers: Organizing Sources and Creating Bibliographies
- RefWorks (new version)Keep track of your research sources and quickly create and format bibliographies. First-time users will need to create an account using the link provided.
- RefWorks TutorialUse a RefWorks tutorial to learn about additional features or to get help.
- ZoteroCitation manager that works with MS Word for in-text citations. You have 300 MB of storage with a free account.
Citation Style - Ebooks and print books
MLA Handbook, 8th Ed. by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016Publication Date: 2016Daley Library bookstacks
The Elements of Style by Call Number: PE1408 .S772 1999ISBN: 9780205309023Publication Date: 1999Daley Library bookstacks
Longman Handbook for Writers and Readers, 5th Ed. by Call Number: PE1408 .A61844 2008Publication Date: 2008IDEA Commons Desk Collection
Books on Writing about Art
Visual literacy: writing about art by Call Number: N7476 .T83 2002Discusses how to write about art from a variety of perspectives. Includes tips on approaching assignments on the formal analysis of a work of art, contextual analysis, and analysis of an exhibition.
A short guide to writing about art, 10th ed. by Call Number: N7476 .B37 2011Offers several approaches to organizing one's ideas when writing about art.
Vocabularies
Databases of authoritative terminology for artists' names and world locations.
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) - (Getty Research Institute)
Includes definitions for use of art and architecture terms.
- Union List of Artists' Names (ULAN) - (Getty Research Institute)
- Cultural Objects Name Authority (CONA) - (Getty Research Institute)
UIC Writing Center
Writing is one of the most important skills that students take away from college. To help students learn about writing, UIC offers a special free resource, a peer writing center, where students work with other students to improve as writers.
