Featuring full-text articles plus abstracting and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, Art Full Text is a useful database for art students and art historians. It covers many topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, film and architecture. The database also includes Art Index Retrospective which covers index from 1929-1984.
The database covers fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more. In recent years, its coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art has expanded greatly, along with its material on new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Artbibliographies Modern cites reviews, exhibition catalogs, books, and dissertations on modern and contemporary art.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Access via The Getty Research Institute to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
Bibliography of the History of Art from the J. Paul Getty Trust and CNRS-INIST. BHA incorporates the complete contents of International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) and Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (RAA).
Multidisciplinary research databases
These resources cover many areas relevant to research in Design.
Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including more than 3,630 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, Academic Search Premier abstracts and indexes all 8,000+ journals included in the collection. This database offers articles and scholarly monographs in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Abstracts covering diverse subject areas of the humanities. Find articles, reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, and original works of fiction. Access limited to 8 simultaneous users.
This database contains abstracts covering diverse subject areas of the humanities. The abstracts feature articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), and reviews of plays and television and radio programs. Includes English and non-English records.
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. A portion of this resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Project MUSE® offers more than 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Links to full text of open access, peer-reviewed journals, including Nineteenth Century Art Worldwide, Archivo Español de Arte, The Bonefolder, Journal of Art Historiography, papers of Surrealism, Tate Papers, and others.
UK publication devoted to the fine and decorative arts. Contains scholarly articles, editorials, book and exhibition reviews. Calendar of art events worldwide. Current issues of magazine are downloadable.
Focuses on academic output across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, etc. Be sure to use the "Find it at UIC" link.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for remote UIC users. Google Scholar will recognize your UIC affiliation and provide links to download articles & more from the UIC Library collections.