Subject and Course Guides: UIC Library Access Worldwide: Find Articles Online

As a UIC Student you can access a full range of resources and services that our library provides to our faculty and students, no matter where you are in the world.

Go to the list of databases in the library website and search the appropriate databases. If you are not sure which database to use, consult our Research Guides. All databases require log in with UIC NetID. If you do not have one, please contact ACCC to activate your UIC NetID and password.

To request an article that is not available in full-text, please go to ILLiad. You will receive an email notification on how to access the article electronically through ILLiad.

Here are some commonly used databases you have access to:

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Getting Started

The sources listed below provide background information that can give context to and guide your research. These sources also provide vocabulary to use in searching for books and journal articles relevant to your research.

Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
SAGE Reference E-Books
Growing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
This is a portal to over 60 topical and subject encyclopedias online.
CQ : Congressional Quarterly Researcher
Provides snapshots of current affairs. Single-themed reports are researched and written by experienced observers from a range of viewpoints. From 1923 to present.
CQ Researcher Reports are published 44 times per year and cover political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 13,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

UIC Library Access Worldwide

Getting Started

How to Search Library Databases with Keywords?

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library