Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Political Collections: Home

This guide offers an introduction to political holdings housed at University of Illinois Chicago, department of Special Collections and University Archives.

PLEASE NOTE

***Until further notice, the Special Collections and University Archives reading rooms in Daley Library and Library of the Health Sciences are closed to outside researchers and have only limited availability for members of the UIC community. Special Collections librarians and staff will be available to help with virtual reference questions through Ask A Librarian. Please note that response times will be longer than normal. For more information, please see Covid-19 Details for UIC Special Collections and University Archives***

About UIC Political Collections

UIC Special Collections and University Archives is an important research center for the study of the rich and fascinating political history of Chicago, Cook County, and the state of Illinois. Few collections touch on national politics as well. The archives hold the personal papers of prominent politicians, the records of influential political groups and government organizations, and collections gathered by third parties about politically topics.

Some collections may be unprocessed or otherwise unavailable. Please Ask a Librarian for more information.

Accessing Special Collections and University Archives

PLEASE NOTE: Covid-19 restrictions are currently in effect. Please see Covid-19 Details for UIC Special Collections and University Archives for more information.

Archival Collections held at UIC can be viewed in the Special Collections and University Archives, reading rooms on the third floor of Richard J. Daley Library, or the third floor of the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago. The exact location depends on which collection you wish to look at.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Dan Harper
Contact:
Richard J. Daley Library
University of Illinois at Chicago
MC 234
801 S. Morgan St. 3-330
Chicago, IL 60607
312-996-4457