Home - MHA Capstone - Literature Review Resources - Subject and Course Guides at University of Illinois at Chicago

Scholarly or Non-Scholarly?

How do you know if a source (article, book, or website) is scholarly or not?

Getting Started on a Literature Review
Getting Started slides from 2017 class with UIC Librarian Rosie Hanneke.
Literature Search Workbook
You may use this Excel workbook to organize and document your search. If you don't like this system, remember to keep research notes in some other way.

InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Use InterLibrary Loan to request any article or book that the library does not have access to. You will receive a copy (for free!), usually within a few business days.
Chicago Formatting/Citation Style Guide
Resources to help with formatting papers and references in Chicago Author-Date format (16th ed.).

Where can you find articles for your literature review? Here are some best bets:

ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM is an extensive business research database with full-text articles from business journals, business and trade magazines and newspapers.
PubMed
PubMed contains over 24 million citations, focusing on scholarly journals in the health sciences. Look here for scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Google Scholar
This link to Google Scholar is "proxied" for remote UIC users. Google Scholar will recognize your UIC affiliation and provide links to download articles & more from the UIC Library collections.

Find many more recommended databases on the Public Health Research Guide, or contact Prof Whalen or another librarian for help searching.

Have you found a helpful website that you'd like to share with your colleagues? Email me at kwhale4@uic.edu to suggest that it be added to this list.

Looking for compensation data for healthcare providers? The UIC Library has institutional access to MGMA (Medical Group Management Association) DataDive. Contact Prof Whalen at kwhale4@uic.edu to find out about access.

she/her(s)

Email Me

Contact:

Kim Whalen
Librarian for Public Health
kwhale4@uic.edu

(312) 355-7004

Subjects: Public Health

Click here to log into your RefWorks account.