Disability services navigation
A guide to information resources relevant to public health research. Includes scholarly sources available through the library, as well as links to public health information freely available on the web, including government documents and data sources.
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2015
Since Public Health is an interdisciplinary field touching on a wide range of subject areas, be sure to search interdisciplinary databases (see list below) for literature in addition to health sciences resources. Ask a librarian if you'd like help selecting databases in your particular area of study.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s to present.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
A good alternative (or supplement) to PubMed; especially strong in international research and drug & disease coverage. From 1974 to present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Major Nursing and Allied Health database. Includes several relevant public health titles not included in PubMed.
- Cochrane Library
Database on reproductive health, population, family planning, and related health issues.
- GIDEON - Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network
Clinical tool used for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy. This resource was partially acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Comprehensive index of scientific & medical literature from Latin America and the Caribbean. Over 800 journals indexed, with nearly 300,000 articles freely available on the web. Search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese.
A freely available database of Brazilian scientific journals. Search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese.
- National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
Searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software.
TOXNET is a publicly available portal to materials on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and biohazards.
- Journals@Ovid Ovid Premier
An alternative to PubMed; access to the MEDLINE database via UIC's Ovid subscription.
UIC patrons will need to to create a Trip profile (http://www.tripdatabase.com/account/profile) and indicate that they are at UIC so they can access full text articles.
- Google Scholar
An interdisciplinary web search for scholarly materials, including journal articles, books, dissertations, and more. Accessing Google Scholar through this guide will provide direct links to UIC's full text journal subscriptions.
Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc. Consider searching here if you're investigating the human motivations, attitudes, or behaviors behind a particular public health issue.
Scopus is a wide-ranging database of peer-reviewed literature in the health, social, & life sciences, arts & humanities; search here for literature or to track citations ("Who has cited this article?").
- PAIS - see also: Public Affairs Information Service International
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
- ERIC on EBSCOhost
- Social Services Abstracts
Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Social Work Abstracts
Covers social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Urban Studies Abstracts
Bibliographic citations to articles on urban affairs, community development, urban history and more.
- Urban Studies: A SAGE Full-text Collection
This database includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies
- Web of Science
Another good resource for finding literature across a variety of disciplines, as well as tracking cited references.
Ask a Librarian
LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163
LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8491
CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650
LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607
More research help
Chat with a Librarian (IM Reference)
- Last Updated Nov 21, 2014
A compilation of web sites and databases for accessing government information and publications.
69 views this year
Health Sciences Gateway
- Last Updated Apr 22, 2015
A gateway to resources for all health sciences disciplines, including research databases, clinical tools, and reference resources.
14,668 views this year
Health Policy Guide
- Last Updated Apr 23, 2015
Find resources for Health Policy, Health Economics, Health Management, and Health Statistics
153 views this year