Special Collections and University Archives research at Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago: Pharmacy historical resources

Here are some of the archival collections relating to dentistry. For more, please search our database: https://archivesspace.uic.edu/

MSCVDA11 - Chicago Veteran Druggists' Association Records 

• The collection consists of a variety of photographs, clippings, notes, correspondence, and miscellaneous items related to the business of the Chicago Veteran Druggists' Association, with dates ranging from 1839 to 1967.

MSCAPP - Chicago Area Pharmacy Photograph Collection

• This collection of 132 35 mm color slides documents Chicago area pharmacies in a variety of neighborhoods and suburbs, including Berwyn, Brookfield, Cicero, Downers Grove, and La Grange. The images were taken by an unidentified photographer in 1955 and most are of the exterior of the establishments. 

018-05-31 - College of Pharmacy -- Stanley J. Garmus papers

• The papers in this collection consist primarily of Garmus' student notebooks, course handouts, and lab assignments from 1927-1930. Also included in the collection are a number of promotional brochures, pamphlets, and booklets from pharmaceutical companies as well as several books used by Garmus during his time as a student at the School of Pharmacy.

MSMAIC24 - Medical Artifact and Instrument collection

• This collection contains many historical pharmaceutical tools and containers.

Here is a link to all UIC's cataloged materials related to the subject "Pharmacy" held in Special Collections and University Archives. Below is a sample of our holdings. For many of the pharmacopeias we have additional editions.