Special Collections and University Archives research at Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago: Dentistry historical resources

Here are some of the archival collections relating to dentistry. For more, please search our database: https://archivesspace.uic.edu/

MSTYLM24 - Dr. Stanley Tylman collection

• Dr. Stanley Tylman was a UIC College of Dentistry professor (1920-1962) and head of the Department of Fixed Partial Prosthodontics. He also saved the life of Juan Peron, former President of Argentina, from a severe case of peritonitis. The items in this collection are related to his work for Peron.

MSMAIC24 - Medical Artifact and Instrument collection

• This collection contains many historical dental tools and models.

MSDSC15 - Dental School Catalog collection

• This collection contains dental school catalogs from institutions in the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico.

014-01 - College of Dentistry -- Administration records

• College of Dentistry administration records include committee minutes, faculty and administrative materials, photographs, promotional materials, and other items reflecting the history of the College.

014-30-03 - College of Dentistry -- Class Composite Photographs

• Composite photographs of graduating classes from the College of Dentistry. Some class years include faculty and administrators.

014-20-03 - College of Dentistry -- Maury Massler papers

• Dr. Maury Massler was Associate Dean for Postgraduate and Teacher Education at the University of Illinois College of Dentistry. He was founder of the American Academy of Pedodontics. His personal papers include correspondence and newsletters from various dental organizations.

Here is a link to all UIC cataloged materials relating to Dentistry held in Special Collections and University Archives. Below is a list of just some of our holdings.