Interested in Special Collections and University Archives at Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago (LHS-C)?
While many of UIC's special collections and university archives are housed at Daley Library, some are held on the West Side of campus at the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago, or LHS-C. The Special Collections and University Archives Department is on the east side of the third floor. Get more information on our hours here. Currently, you can make an appointment to visit through this link, and you can also contact us via chat (click on the blue box in the lower right of your browser screen), email, or call us at (312) 996-8977. Everyone is welcome to visit!
What collections are available there?
The Special Collections and University Archives unit at the Library of the Health Sciences collects rare books and archival collections documenting the medical and health history of the Chicago area, as well as the history of UIC’s medical campus. Are you interested in historical public health data, occupational health, medical illustrations, early pharmacopeias, or what it was like to be a nurse in the 1930s? We have answers to all that and more. Some of our notable archival collections include the Cook County School of Nursing records, the Illinois Occupational Therapy Association records, the Horizon Hospice records, and the Abraham Low/Recovery International collections. We also hold records from the pre-UIC health colleges, including the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Chicago and the Chicago College of Pharmacy. Our rare book collection dates from 1496 and includes over 23,000 cataloged items.
You can view a list of all UIC Library's finding aids here (link contains both LHS-C collections and Daley Library collections) or view our digitized materials here. University Archives materials are spread across both libraries. Interested in collections at LHS-C only? See this list from the Explore Chicago database.
For more information about using our finding aid database, see How to search Special Collections and University Archives finding aids for search tips.
Is researching at LHS-Chicago different than at Daley Library?
Only the location is different! All our policies remain the same. Please bring a photo ID. You can view more information about visiting here.
How do I get there?
There are a few ways to get to LHS-C, which is located at 1750 W. Polk St., Chicago, IL 60612.
Public Transit
If you are traveling from Daley Library, you can take the CTA or the UIC Campus Shuttle. Both the 157 and 7 CTA buses stop at the Polk Pink Line stop, which is across the street from LHS-C. A UIC ID is required to board the UIC Campus Shuttle, which does have a tracker.
Driving
Visitors may park at the parking structure at 1100 South Wood Street, or at 820 South Paulina Street. Please visit Parking Services for more information, including fees.
Genealogy sources
Often users are looking for information about a family member who was a Doctor, Nurse, or another health professional, or attended medical or nursing school in Chicago. We're happy to help you look up your relative! If you can provide at least a date range of when they would have attended school, or were active in the medical community, that will be very helpful. If they were a nurse, providing their maiden as well as married name is helpful, even if they weren't married when they were enrolled. You can send a request here.
Here are links to sources you may find helpful [**Please note that some records are subject to FERPA and HIPAA and may be closed. However, please reach out to us and we'll try to assist!**]
- Illinois Training School for Nurses (1880-1929)
- Cook County School of Nursing (1929-1980)
- Michael Reese Hospital School of Nursing transcripts (1881-1981)
Do you think your family member attended the schools that became part of UIC's Medical Campus? Check out this historical timeline to see the names and dates of the former colleges.
Online Resources
- UIC Board of Trustees minutes. Search using the top right search box. Often lists of graduates were published in the minutes.
From the National Library of Medicine:
- Black physicians and medical students affiliated with Chicago hospitals and medical schools as of October 23, 1965
- 1963–1964 Chicago area Black medical students, interns, and residents
- Black physicians and medical students affiliated with Chicago hospitals and medical schools [as of October 23, 1963]
- The NLM's digital collections database
Special Collections and University Archives at Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago
1750 W. Polk St., Chicago, IL 60612
Third floor, west side, Room 320
(312) 996-8977
Ask Me
orcid.org/0000-0003-1026-9823UIC Library of the Health Sciences
1750 W. Polk St.
Chicago, IL 60612