Books
On Ethnobotany and Herbal Medicine
A Cultural History of Plants by ISBN: 9781474273596Publication Date: 2022-02-24A Cultural History of Plants presents a global exploration of how plants have shaped human culture. Covering the last 12,000 years, it is the definitive history of how we have cultivated, traded, classified, and altered plants and how, in turn, plants have influenced our ideas of luxury and wealth, health and well-being, art and architecture. Chapter titles are identical across each of the volumes. This gives the choice of reading about a specific period in one of the volumes, or following a theme across history by reading the relevant chapter in each of the six. The themes (and chapter titles) are: Plants as Staple Foods; Plants as Luxury Foods; Trade and Exploration; Plant Technology and Science; Plants and Medicine; Plants in Culture; Plants as Natural Ornaments; The Representation of Plants. The six volumes cover: 1 - Antiquity (10,000 BCE to 500 CE); 2 - Post-Classical Era (500 to 1400); 3 - Early Modern Era (1400 to 1650); 4 - the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries (1650 to 1800); 5 - the Nineteenth Century(1800 to 1920); 6 - Modern Era (1920 to the present).
Ethnobotany in the New Europe by ISBN: 9781845454562Publication Date: 2010-06-01The authors and studies presented in this book reflect work being conducted across Europe's many regions. They tell the story of the on-going evolution of human-plant relations in one of the most bioculturally dynamic places on the planet, and explore new approaches that link the re-evaluation of plant-based cultural heritage with the conservation and use of biocultural diversity.
The ethnobotany of Eden : rethinking the jungle medicine narrative by ISBN: 022654785XPublication Date: 2019The 'jungle medicine narrative' developed around a series of assumptions regarding nature and culture in the tropical realm, some grounded in scientific theory, others the products of ancient prejudices and preconceptions. This text explores the origin and evolution of the various elements in this narrative, including the deployment of the pristine nature of tropical forested landscapes, and the romanticized forest-dweller archetype.
Greco-Arab and Islamic Herbal Medicine Traditional System, Ethics, Safety, Efficacy, and Regulatory Issues by ISBN: 1118002261Publication Date: 2011This book presents a systematic review on traditional Arab herbal medicine including historical background, medical innovations introduced by Arab physicians, common roots of Arab medicine and western medicine, methodology of drug discovery and therapy in Arabic and Islamic medicine, a state-of-the-art description of traditional Arab herbal medicine, and evidence-based safety and efficacy of Arab and Islamic medicines. The usage of modern cell biological, biochemical, in vitro and in vivo techniques for the evaluation of medicinal plant safety and efficacy is also discussed.
Healing roots : anthropology in life and medicine by ISBN: 178238555XPublication Date: 2015This bush, Umhlonyane, also known as Artemisia afra, which grows wild throughout the sub-Saharan region, smells and tastes like ""medicine,"" thus easily making its way into people's lives and becoming the choice of everyday healing for Xhosa healer-diviners and Rastafarian herbalists. This ""natural"" remedy has recently sparked curiosity as scientists search for new molecules against a tuberculosis pandemic while hoping to recognize indigenous medicine
Healing Traditions of the Northwestern Himalayas by ISBN: 8132219252Publication Date: 2014This book discusses the perception of disease, healing concepts and the evolution of traditional systems of healing in the Himalayas of Himachal Pradesh, India. The chapters cover a diverse range issues: people and knowledge systems, healing in ancient scriptures, concept of sacredness and faith healing, food as medicament, presumptions about disease, ethno-botanical aspects of medicinal plants, collection and processing of herbs, traditional therapeutic procedures, indigenous Materia medica, etc.
Plant Medicines, Healing and Psychedelic Science Cultural Perspectives by ISBN: 3319767208Publication Date: 2018This is a book about the intersections of three dimensions. The first is the way social scientists and historians treat the history of psychiatry and healing, especially as it intersects with psychedelics. The second encompasses a reflection on the substances themselves and their effects on bodies. The third addresses traditional healing, as it circles back to our understanding of drugs and psychiatry.
Plants and Health New Perspectives on the Health-Environment-Plant Nexus by ISBN: 331948088XPublication Date: 2016The goal in this volume is to highlight some contemporary examples of how plants are central to various aspects of healthy environments and healthy minds and bodies. The case studies represent a wide geographical range and explore the diversity in the health appeals of plants and herbs.
On the Research and Use of Medicinal Plants
The Garden Politic by ISBN: 9781479820122Publication Date: 2023-02-07The Garden Politic argues that botanical practices and discourses helped nineteenth-century Americans engage pressing questions of race, gender, settler colonialism, and liberal subjectivity. Drawing on ecocriticism, New Materialism, environmental history, and the history of science--and crossing disciplinary and national boundaries--The Garden Politic shows how new ideas about cultivation and plant life could be mobilized to divergent political and social ends.
Midwest medicinal plants : identify, harvest, and use 109 wild herbs for health and wellness by ISBN: 1604696559Publication Date: 2017Plants of the Midwest provide an wealth of botanical diversity. Whether you are already adept at finding, identifying, harvesting and safely using wild medicinal plants, or are just starting out, this guide will help you wildcraft your way to wellness.
Recent trends in medicinal plants research by ISBN: 128084955XPublication Date: 2012One type of research explores the value of medicinal plants as traditionally used and studies of these plants have the potential to determine which plants are most potent, optimize dosages and dose forms, and identify safety risks. Another type of research uses bioassays to identify single molecules from plants that have interesting bioactivities in isolation and might be useful lead compounds for the development of pharmaceuticals
Popular medicinal plants in Portland and Kingston, Jamaica by ISBN: 9783030489267Publication Date: 2020This book highlights the results from over a year of ethnobotanical research in a rural and an urban community in Jamaica, where we interviewed more than 100 people who use medicinal plants for healthcare. The goal of this research was to better understand patterns of medicinal plant knowledge, and to find out which plants are used in consensus by local people for a variety of illnesses.
Nature's pharmacopeia : a world of medicinal plants by ISBN: 0231166605Publication Date: 2016By chronicling the ways in which humans have cultivated plant species, extracted their active chemical ingredients, and investigated their effects on the body over time, Nature's Pharmacopeia also builds an unparalleled portrait of these special herbs as they transitioned from wild flora and botanical curiosities to commodities and potent drugs. The book opens with an overview of the use of medicinal plants in the traditional practices and indigenous belief systems of people in the Americas, Africa, Asia, and ancient Europe.
Herbs, spices and medicinal plants : processing, health benefits and safety by ISBN: 1119036682Publication Date: 2020Herbs and spices are perishable items: to preserve them for export and/or storage, they are often processed prior to consumption, which could affect their physico-chemical and biological properties. This book will provide a comprehensive overview of the health benefits, analytical techniques used and effects of processing upon the physico-chemical properties of herbs and spices.
WHO Monographs on Selected Medicinal Plants by ISBN: 9241545178Publication Date: 1999-12-31A collection of 28 monographs covering the quality control and traditional and clinical uses of selected medicinal plants. Plants were selected for inclusion on the basis of their widespread use, particularly in countries that rely heavily on medicinal plants to meet primary health care needs.
General reference books
Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations with CD-ROM by Call Number: W13 J13 2009ISBN: 9781416058991Publication Date: 2008-10-23Print copy also available.
Note: Title changed to Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations. Click through will take you to that title.
AMA manual of style : a guide for authors and editors by ISBN: 9780190246587Publication Date: 2020The AMA manual of style thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections
Concise Medical Dictionary by ISBN: 9780199557141Publication Date: 2016This market-leading illustrated dictionary contains 12,500 authoritative entries on all aspects of medical science. Written by a team of medical experts, all entries have been revised and updated for this new edition to reflect the very latest in medical knowledge and practice. Entries areaccessible and jargon-free and are complemented by over 140 illustrations and diagrams.This brand new edition includes over 500 new entries and features increased coverage of pharmacology, obstetrics/gynaecology, paediatrics, ethics, nephrology, and psychiatry. Recommended web links are now provided for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Medical Dictionarycompanion website, and appendices have been expanded to include tables of paediatric reference ranges, milk formulas, and additional abbrevations for blood testsSelling almost 700,000 copies in previous editions, this is an essential A-Z for students and those working in the medical and allied professions. It is also an invaluable home reference guide for the general reader.
Databases
For Biological Sciences
- CNKIChina Academic Journals Full-text Database (also known as CAJ) is the largest continuously updated Chinese journals database in China. It has collected more than 8,000 titles with full-text articles since 1994.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost)
From the National Agricultural Library. Contains citations about all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Includes: journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal. Includes captions and transcripts.
Note: to create a JoVE test for a video, you need to create an account and then register as either a professor or student. Then you need to click confirm under Newsletter to complete the registration. - JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
- NatMed Pro
Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- ScienceDirect
A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
For History
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES)
American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) is being renamed American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) to more accurately represent the content within the product. This bibliographic resource provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union, with a vast collection of indexed sources, published in the United States and Canada. Coverage for ABSEEES ranges from 1989 to the present.
- American National Biography
Biographical work on people from all eras who have influenced American history and culture.
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users - Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
- Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies
Selected works on social sciences and the humanities in Latin America (1936 to present).
- Historical AbstractsHistorical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- History Reference Source
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, this database contains full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.
- History Reference Source eBook Subscription
A companion to the History Reference Source database, this contains a rich selection of historical titles, covering global topics from the ancient world through today.
- Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online is a digital reference shelf of topical encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries with emphasis on Literature and Western Civilization . Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles.
- SAGE Reference E-BooksGrowing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
For Anthropology
- Anthropology Plus
Citations to articles in anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, bringing together Anthropological Literature from Harvard and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK.
- AnthroSource
AnthroSource is an online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists.
- eHRAF ArchaeologyA unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological and prehistory studies.
- eHRAF World CulturesCultural and social information is organized by ethnic groups and deep-indexed.
- Native American EthnobotanyWebsite for food, drugs, dyes, and natural fibers of Native American People.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
- SAGE Research MethodsProvides over 1,000 core texts as well as thousands of additional videos, cases, datasets, tools, and how-to guides for research methods across the disciplines.
Other Subject Guides
The research guides below will provide further guidance regarding navigation and use of information resources in specific disciplines. If your research question focuses on specific aspects of ethnobotany, anthropology, complementary medicine, geography or maps, Native American studies, or other subjects emphasized in the guides below, it may be helpful to explore the resources highlighted in those guides for further specificity.
Websites
- CINWACINWA is an online database that reunites the vernacular names of (semi-)cultivated plants in the diverse indigenous languages of western South America from published sources.
- PlantNet IdentificationUseful site for global plants
- Plants of the World OnlinePlant resource from Kew Gardens. Use this resource to verify your plant name (listed as Accepted names).
- University Extention Search (US)Search for research done my United States Land Grand University Extension sites. Most of these are agriculture based.