This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for remote UIC users. Google Scholar will recognize your UIC affiliation and provide links to download articles & more from the UIC Library collections.
Scopus contains over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide with 49 million records, 78% with abstracts. It Includes over 5.3 million conference papers and provides 100% Medline coverage with interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys,
Access to the Web of Science Core Collection which is the largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
The Web of Science, provided by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) a division of Thomson Reuters, is an index of current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from 1975 on. The bibliographic records from approximately 8,700 high impact research journals are mostly linked to full-text articles.
ACM Digital Library (formerly ACM Portal) offers full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Full text of every article ever published by ACM:
* Publications by Affiliated Organizations
* Special Interest Groups (SIGs)
* ACM Oral History interviews
* Computing Reviews
* The Guide to Computing Literature
Platform of Compendex and Inspec, the most comprehensive databases of engineering and technical research available.
Tip: For off campus access, use the UIC OpenVPN. To install, go to OpenVPN . Off campus users can also log in with username UICLib and password Eresources . Ignore the message to change password and select the search menu.
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing references and abstracts to over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, civil, mechanical and materials engineering, as well as narrower subtopics within all these major fields. Online coverage is from 1970 to the present. Around 250,000 new records are added to the database annually. Compendex is updated weekly to ensure access to critical developments in your field.
IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.
Also known as IEEE Electronic Library, this database provides full-text access to a wide range of technology and engineering materials: transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; and all current IEEE Standards.
Register for Scifinder using your UIC email address.
Follow the instructions for registration. You MUST use an email address with the domain "uic.edu" in order to register. You must also connect to SciFinder Web via a UIC IP address on campus, or through VPN or the proxy. After you submit the form, CAS will send you an e-mail message with instructions for completing the registration process.
Login here for the new Web version. CAS SciFinder Scholar is the premier chemistry database produced by the American Chemical Society.
CAS SciFinder Scholar is the premier chemistry database produced by the American Chemical Society. It contains structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, properties, single- and multiple-step chemical reactions. UIC users also have access to the Substructure Module.
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library covers a broad range of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, environmental, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, etc., including the ASTM journals, books, and papers.