Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Other Reference Resources
In addition to the following online resources, please visit the Library's Reference Collection, located on the second floor, to find additional engineering resources such as specialized encyclopedias, handbooks and standards.
- Oxford Reference OnlineSpecialty encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries.
- AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. Includes captions and transcripts.
- Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
Find Books
Subclass T Technology
Search for books in the UIC library catalog.
For browsing, visit these Library of Congress call numbers:
| T10 - T995 | General Technology |
| TA164 - TA1280 | General Engineering |
| TC160 - TC1645 | Hydraulic Engineering |
| TD159 - TD949 | Environmental Technology & Sanitary Engineering |
| TF200 - TF1126 | Railroad & Operation Engineering |
| TH845 - TH9745 | Building Construction |
| TJ170 - TJ1496 | Mechnical Engineering & Construction |
| TK301 - TK9971 | Electrical Engineering |
| TL500 - TL4050 | Aeronautics, Astronautics |
| TN263 - TN271 | Mineral Deposits, Prospecting |
| TN275 - TN325 | Practical Mining Operations |
| TN331 - TN347 | Mine Transportation, Machinery |
| TN400 - TN580 | Ore Deposits |
| TN600 - TN799 | Metallurgy |
| TN799.5 - TN948 | Nonmetallic Minerals |
| TN950 - TN997 | Building & Ornamental Stones |
| TP155 - TP1185 | Chemical Technology |
| TR250 - TR1045 | Photography |
| TS155 - TS2283 | Manufactures |
e-Books
- AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. Includes captions and transcripts.
- O'Reilly Safari Technical Books and Videos
Online access to 40,000+ technical books, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths, and audio books. Includes captions and transcripts.
A UIC email address is required for access.
Note: At the O'Reilly welcome page, go to SELECT YOUR INSTITUTION and at the drop down menu, select NOT LISTED? CLICK HERE .Enter your UIC email address. If you already have an account with O'Reilly, you can skip this step. Instead go to ALREADY A USER? CLICK HERE. This will take you to a page where you have to login with your username and password. - ScienceDirect
A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Archival Resources
- Wiley Digital ArchivesFor 200 years—since 1817—the New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS) has brought together extraordinary people working at the frontiers of discovery. Among the oldest scientific organizations in the United States, it has become not only an enduring cultural institution in New York, but also one of the most significant organizations in the global scientific community. Throughout its history, the Academy's Membership has featured thinkers and innovators from all walks of life, including U.S. Presidents Jefferson and Monroe, Thomas Edison, Charles Darwin, Margaret Mead, and many more. Today, the Academy numbers over 20,000 Members in 100+ countries, with a President's Council that includes 30 Nobel Laureates, and a distinguished Board of Governors comprised of leaders from business, academia, and philanthropy.
Assistant Professor and Reference & Liaison Librarian (STEM)
801 S. Morgan St
Chicago, IL 60607