Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM): CAM Web Sites

This section on the Bandolier web site has articles from the journal, abstracts of systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and other studies.

The Cochrane CAM Field is a member of the Cochrane Collaboration. It lists abstracts of systematic reviews that it has done for Cochrane.

This web site provides evidence-based reviews of various complementary and integrative therapies, particularly as it relates to cancer. Also available are a drug interaction advisory, a list of selected links & resources, and a online video series on CAM. The About Complementary / Integrative Medicine page provides a great basic introduction to the many terms used alternative - integrative - complementary in describing unconventional treatments.

The OCCAM is an office of the National Cancer Institute which is "responsible for NCI’s research agenda in complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) as it relates to cancer prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and symptom management."

"The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork is an independent, private, nonprofit organization that was founded in 1992 to establish a certification program and uphold a national standard of excellence."

"The mission of the NCCAOM is to establish, assess, and promote recognized standards of competence and safety in acupuncture and Oriental medicine for the protection and benefit of the public."

Articles cover more than 2 dozen CAM topics. Also, links to organizations providing additional information are frequently available. A Find a Practitioner database searches by treatment type, with additional search options for name, city, zip or area code, state, or country. Listings come from several national and international professional organizations.

Information guides cover general topics, health issues and specific modalities. The guides are regularly updated.

Resources are directed mostly to Health Professionals, however, the Health Information section has some helpful consumer resources on understanding CAM as well as links for information by treatment or condition.

Created by the University of Minnesota Center for Spirituality & Healing and the Life Science Foundation.

A very well coordinated site that provides informative articles on vitamins, nutrition and recipes, specific conditions & diseases, a practitioner locator database, and an expert opinion question and answer section.

The AAMA web site has information on licensing, continuing education, and a database of acupuncture physicians.

"A licensed naturopathic physician (N.D.) attends a four-year graduate-level naturopathic medical school and is educated in all of the same basic sciences as an M.D., but also studies holistic and nontoxic approaches to therapy with a strong emphasis on disease prevention and optimizing wellness."

ACA is the largest professional association in the world representing doctors of chiropractic.

"The AHMA is committed to increasing awareness and understanding of the natural healing tenets of Holistic Medicine and to link together those who wish to utilize and promote a holistic approach to conventional and integrative medicine."

AHNA serves as the "definitive voice in holistic nursing" with more than 4,000 members.

The AIH web site has information on evidence based homeopathy for particular conditions, finding a licensed homeopathic practitioner and more.

Founded in 1979, this coalition represents over 15,000 members from art therapy, dance/movement therapy, drama therapy, music therapy, poetry therapy, and psychodrama.