Working with Your Sociology Librarian
Contact Paula Dempsey to set up a zoom with one or more members of your group - the earlier the better! dempseyp@uic.edu
Paula can work with you to:
- Set up shared folders in RefWorks or Zotero to improve collaboration and make it easy to cite sources in ASA style.
- Identify data sources to wow your client.
- Develop search strategies for relevant sociological theories and previous research.
5 Things to Know about Your Community Partner (and How to Find Out)
1. What issue(s) does the organization work on?
Tip: Brainstorm multiple ways to express the issue (e.g., not just Homelessness but also Housing or Gentrification).
2. How have sociologists studied the organization or the issue(s) they are working on?
Tip: Researchers often keep the name of the organization confidential. If you don’t find the organization by name, use keywords for the issue instead.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- PAIS Index (1914 - current) - see also: Public Affairs Information Service InternationalPolitical, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
3. Who funds the organization and what is their budget spent on?
Tip: Set up a free account on GuideStar www.guidestar.org to download IRS 990 forms; scroll down to see funders and annual budget.
4. What does local press have to say about the organization or the issue(s) they work on?
Tip: Newspapers have different political slants – don’t rely on just one: https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/titles
- Block Club Chicago
Block Club carries Chicago news sorted by neighborhood.
- Chicago Defender (2008-current): NewsBankChicago's nationally recognized African American newspaper.
- Chicago ReporterThe Chicago Reporter is a nonprofit online investigative news organization that identifies, analyzes and reports on the social, economic and political issues of metropolitan Chicago with a focus on race, poverty and income inequality.
- Chicago Sun-Times Collection With Digital ArchiveExplore local history with thenew full-color digital archive of the Chicago Sun Times. You can search this archive in the library or remotely through the library website. This new digital archive covers January 1, 2019 and will grow going forward (there is a 90 day embargo from publication date).
- Chicago Tribune (1985-current)This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need.
- Crain's Chicago Business
Weekly news magazine on companies and people doing business in the Chicago area. - South Side Weekly
Weekly Newspaper covering Chicago's south side with in-depth community reporting.
5. What are the demographics of the communities the organization serves?
Tip: The library has several platforms to allow you to map communities and sub-communities (e.g., teens, older people, single parents).
- SimplyAnalyticsA web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data, the PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system, and the Community Lifestages dataset. The CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics provides 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created.
To save your searches, you need to sign up for an account using your UIC email address.
Access restricted to 5 concurrent users. - Social ExplorerSocial Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Note: Social Explorer has developed a new libguide. To see the new libguide, you can go this link here