Skip to Main Content

Sociology: SOC 212 Tips

Tips for Successful Literature Reviews

Use multiple search tools
Use multiple keywords (and track them)
Focus on what scholars say about each other's work - use both reference lists and "Cited by" options to find more

Brainstorming Keywords

Start a list of keywords and add to it as you explore
Look closely at lists of subject headings in library databases
Consider terms that are older, more formal, and the opposite of your topic

Additional Databases for Researching Sexuality

GenderWatch
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
This is a full text database that focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
LGBTQ+ Source
Formerly known as LGBT Life with Full Text, LGBTQ+ Source includes the fulltext of more than 140 current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Queer (LGBTQ) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books, plus indexing of additional books and periodicals. Topics covered include LGBT Studies, issues affecting the lives of LGBTQ people, queer theory, and more.
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com