Subject Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias and other reference sources can help you learn the basic issues about an important topic before you decide how to narrow down your research question.
- Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd ed., 2005)Most important encyclopedia on religion -- a great place to start. Also available in print in Daley Library, on 2nd floor reference section: BL31 .E46 2005
Encyclopedia of Christianity by Call Number: REF R95 .E47 2005ISBN: 0195223934Publication Date: 2005
New Catholic EncyclopediaCall Number: REF BX841 .N44 2003ISBN: 0787640042Publication Date: 2002Comprehensive 15-vol. encyclopedia on all aspects of Catholicism. Located in 2nd floor Daley Reference section.
Encyclopedia Judaica by Call Number: REF DS102.8 .E496 2007ISBN: 9780028659282Publication Date: 2006This exhaustive encyclopedia provides in-depth articles on all aspects of Jewish life and knowledge from ancient times to the present. 22 vols.
Encyclopaedia of Judaism by Call Number: REF BM50 .E63 2005ISBN: 900414787XPublication Date: 20054 volumes
The Yivo Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe by Call Number: REF DS135.E8 Y578 2008ISBN: 9780300119039Publication Date: 2008Xystematically represents the history and culture of Eastern European Jews from their first settlement in the region to the present day. Covers religion, folklore, politics, art, music, theater, language and literature, places, organizations, intellectual movements, and important figures. 2 vols.
- Public Religion Research InstituteA nonprofit, nonpartisan organization engaged in research about the impact of religion on politics and public policy.
The Bible
- The Anchor Bible Dictionary byCall Number: REF BS440 .A54 1992ISBN: 0385193513Publication Date: 1998This 6-volume reference work offers in-depth and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship.
- Interpreter's Bible byCall Number: REF BS491.2 .I55Publication Date: 1957Classic 12-volume Biblical commentary, arranged by the books of the Bible.