PUBH 340 - Health Literacy Links - Public Health - Subject and Course Guides at University of Illinois at Chicago

Get to Know your Audience...

A few sources to start with...

Claritas - Lifestyle Segmentations by Zip Code
Limited - but interesting access. The Claritas lifestyle segmentation tool describes households in U.S. zip codes by distinct lifestyle types called segments. Segments provide a picture of who lives where and what they are like. Marketers use these insights to create more effective and efficient marketing strategies.

MyBestSegments ZIP Code Look-up is a free look into the Claritas segments. ZIP Code Look-up lets you view the top 5 segments within any U.S. zip code. Typically, a zip code has over a dozen Claritas segments present. The library doesn't have a subscription so we can't access all Claritas content.

Articles, Consumer Data Reports, Digital Trends Reports, etc. within Databases...

ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM is an extensive business research database with full-text articles from business journals, business and trade magazines and newspapers.
Mintel Academic
U.S. and European market research reports and data on consumer products and trends, covering forecasts, consumer attitudes and behavior. Includes Mintel Reports, Market Sizes for market share and forecasts, and GNPD (Global New Product Development, for trends in nutrition, packaging, and ingredients.

This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Statista
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

Additional databases to explore...

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full-text to a large number of business sources, including business journals, trade publications and business magazines.

Esri - Tapestry Segmentations by Zip Code
Limited - but interesting access. The Esri tapestry segmentation tool describes communities by zip code. Enter a zip code, pick some topics, and see what they reveal about the people who live within that community. Marketers use this kind of information to better understand communities and better target messages. With the free but limited access we can explore up to 10 different consumer spending, demographic, lifestyle, and behavioral trends. The library doesn't have a subscription so we can't access all of Esri's content.

Passport GMID (Euromonitor International)
An online market research tool that tracks industry trends, macroeconomic and socioeconomic information using raw data, contextual reports and visual tools. Coverage includes 26 different consumer industries in 100 countries, macroeconomics and socioeconomics in 210 countries globally, and COVID-19 monitoring.
PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

These are not the only resources that can provide relevant sources for your work. Search the other pages within the Public Health guide for others. Also consider searching the "Books & Media" tab on the library homepage for e-book/print books about "social marketing" AND health, "social media" AND health, media AND "public health", "target marketing", "audience research", etc.

Always be a critical evaluator of the authority, bias, credibility, currency, purpose, references/citations and reliability of each source before use.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Public Health

Reports and Surveys...

Get to Know your Audience...

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library