Streaming Video
- APA PsycTherapyAPA PsycTherapy provides clinicians, counselors, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring known therapists. This proven counseling training method is an invaluable tool to remain abreast of the latest psychotherapy techniques. Includes captions and transcripts.
- Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy provides students access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable. If you are a faculty member who needs a film activated for a class, please use the request form in Kanopy. Please include the class name and number, and the date the film is needed.
- Docuseek2Docuseek 2 is a platform for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films. It provides access to over 750 documentaries covering a wide variety of subjects including social issues, sustainability, the environment, and many more. Includes captions.
- Alexander Street Press Videos
Search audio and videos from UIC's Alexander Street Press collection. Includes audio descriptions for some videos and captions and transcripts for all videos.
- Counseling and Therapy in VideoCounseling and Therapy in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes captions and transcripts.
- Early Years Clip LibraryThe Early Years Clip Library is a new online resource comprising hundreds of short training film clips covering child development, play, effective learning, provision, effective teaching and specific theories & approaches. Some content has captions and transcripts.
Find Psychology Articles
- APA PsycINFOAPA PsycINFO is an index of publications in the field of psychology as well as journals focusing on the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, nursing, education, sociology, and business
- APA PsycARTICLESAPA PsycARTICLES includes the journals published by the American Psychological Associaiton. The database covers a subset of journals indexed by PsycINFO (above).
- Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Additional Databases
- Annual ReviewsAnnual summations of research in 40 disciplines in scientific, technological and social sciences.
- DSM-V Library
This is the newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). It includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5, and DSM-5 Legacy.
- DSM Legacy Collection
The collection has previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. They include DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.
- HAPI: Health and Psychosocial Instruments :Information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests). Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)LLBA covers disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Covered dates are 1973 - current, with monthly updates.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Search Mental Measurements Yearbook With Tests In Print in EBSCOhost. Access limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Tip: Open link to the database in new tab. If you get the EBSCOhost Select New Service page, close the tab and return to the Databases A-Z List and try accessing the database again.
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
- PTSDpubs (1871 - current)Database produced at the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Subject Guide
Full Text Access
Find full text articles from all our UIC Library databases by clicking on
