Need of additional research assistance with your English 161 writing projects? Be sure to review the English 160 & 161: Introduction to Library Research Guide. The English 160 & 161 Research Guide covers the important aspects of starting the research process for your writing projects.
Topics of Interest
- Recidivism
- School to prison pipeline
- Mass incarceration
- Privatization of prisons
- Prison healthcare
- Solitary confinement
- Mental healthcare
- Education of prison inmates
- Rehabilitation programs
- Ex-offender reentry programs
- Juvenile incarceration
Search Term Tips
Phrase Searches- Search for phrases by placing quotation marks around the phrase. Words with quotes will appear together in all search results. Example: “mass incarceration”
Boolean Operators- Use AND or OR to specify multiple words in any field, any order. Use AND NOT to exclude words. Select the operator you wish to use from the drop down menu in the Advanced Search form. Example: women AND “mass incarceration” OR “prison systems”
Published Reports
- PRI Global Prison Trends 2017Global Prison Trends 2017 is the third edition in Penal Reform International annual Global Prison Trends series, which identifies the topical developments and challenges in criminal justice and prison policy and practice.
- U.S. Department of Corrections Prisoners in 2015The report describes prisoner populations by jurisdiction, most serious offense, and demographic characteristics. Selected findings on prison capacity and prisoners held in private prisons, local jails, and the U.S. military and territories are also included.
Books
College in Prison by Call Number: HV8888.3.U62 N75 2017ISBN: 9780813584126Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Databases
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- CQ : Congressional Quarterly ResearcherProvides snapshots of current affairs. Single-themed reports are researched and written by experienced observers from a range of viewpoints. From 1923 to present.
- Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy provides students access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable. If you are a faculty member who needs a film activated for a class, please use the request form in Kanopy. Please include the class name and number, and the date the film is needed.
- Nexis UniNew version of Lexis Nexis Academic. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and full-text law review articles. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.
- ProQuest Databases
This is a portal to a growing list of Proquest research products, including Theses & Dissertations, Historical Newspapers, ABI/Inform business collection, and more. Note: we do not subscribe to all the titles on the list.
Prison System Documentaries
All documentaries can be found in the database Kanopy (see above).
Extreme Consequences is aimed at keeping kids out of the penal system. It tackles the subjects of making choices and understanding consequences, while addressing the underlying hurt and anger that all at-risk youth experience.
Prison State With this intimate, graphic film, award-winning director Dan Edge follows four residents of a housing project in Louisville, Ky., as they cycle in and out of the state's jails and prisons. More than two years in the making, the program uses deep access to the Louisville jail to offer raw firsthand accounts from prisoners, prison staff, and people whose lives are forever altered by this troubled system, and focuses on the efforts of Mark Bolton, the city's director of corrections, as he tries to move inmates back into the community.
A Stone’s Throw from Prison Between 2010 and 2014, nearly 3,000 Palestinian children were arrested by Israeli forces for reasons like throwing stones. Many are kept in solitary confinement for days, shackled and subjected to intimidating questioning without the presence of their parents or a lawyer. Mohammad Zedani, 14, has been arrested six times. The experience has left him traumatized: he struggles to sleep and displays symptoms of PTSD. We tell his story, along with those of Rami and Ahmed, three out of thousands of children affected by the occupation. We also hear from those working to stop the abuses.
Your Librarian
University of Illinois at Chicago
What if I need help developing my research topic?
- Make an appointment with a librarianSchedule a one-on-one research consultation with a librarian for assistance with your research, to learn advanced skills or to identify sources in a specific subject area
- Make an appointment at the Writing CenterThe Writing Center helps students with course assignments, personal statements, resumes -- you name it. All of us benefit from individual attention to our writing, whether we are getting started or adding finishing touches. The Writing Center helps with writer's block, assignment prompts, brainstorming, organization, making connections with readings, word choice, and sentence revision.