UIC Image Collections
Florence Nightingale Letters Collection
Florence Nightingale (1820-1910) was a pioneer in the field of nursing and a reformer of medical sanitation practices. This collection highlights aspects of her work throughout her life, exemplifying her engagement in policy matters as well as her leadership in the field of Nursing.
The UIC Library provides access to more than 60,000 digitized images, drawn largely from its holdings. These images cover topics including the University's history, medical history, and Chicago history. You can search or browse most of UIC's digital images using CARLI Digital Collections.
Illinois Training School for Nurses Collection
The Illinois School of Training for Nurses was founded in 1880 as the first Nightingale-type training school in the Midwest. The photographs in this Collection include interesting scenes of ward life at Cook County Hospital in the 1880s, student nurse group graduation portraits from 1883-1929, groups of nurses leaving for France during WWI, and snapshots of student nurses inside and outside the "Nurses Home."
The UIC Library provides access to more than 60,000 digitized images, drawn largely from its holdings. These images cover topics including the University's history, medical history, and Chicago history. You can search or browse UIC's digital images here.
Cook County School of Nursing
The Cook County School of Nursing Records digital collection includes imagery from the Illinois Training School for Nurses, the Cook County Hospital and Health Hospitals Governing Commission of Cook County.
The UIC Library provides access to more than 60,000 digitized images, drawn largely from its holdings. These images cover topics including the University's history, medical history, and Chicago history. You can search or browse UIC's digital images here.
Digital Exhibits
- Mapping Care Project: The History of Black Nurses in ChicagoA collaboration of the University of Illinois Chicago's Midwest Nursing Research Center and the Black Metropolis Research Consortium, Mapping Care highlights the history of black nurses in Chicago through oral histories, archival photos, and background on the sites of Black healthcare in Chicago.
HathiTrust Digital Library Collection on Nursing in Illinois
Nursing in Illinois is a collection of full-text materials on the history of nursing in Illinois and Chicago that have been made available through the HathiTrust digital library. The collection includes journals, books, reports, bulletins, and syllabi created by the Cook County School of Nursing, the Illinois Training School, and the Illinois State Board of Nursing.
Archival Databases
- ArchivesGridArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
- Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC) DatabaseThe Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC) is a Chicago-based membership association of libraries, universities, and other archival institutions. Its mission is to make broadly accessible its members’ holdings of materials that document African American and African diasporic culture, history, and politics, with a specific focus on materials relating to Chicago.
- Explore Chicago CollectionsExplore Chicago brings the holdings of many Chicago-area institutions together into one searchable database.
- Medical Heritage LibraryThe Medical Heritage Library (MHL), a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries including UIC, promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine. The MHL’s growing collection of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films number in the tens of thousands, with representative works from each of the past six centuries, all of which are available here through the Internet Archive.
- National Library of Medicine's digital collections databaseDigital Collections provides access to the National Library of Medicine's distinctive digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care and the history of medicine. Their unique digital collections are freely available for download worldwide and in the public domain unless otherwise indicated.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch platform)
Union catalog with holdings information from libraries across the world.