It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
A guide to academic music literature: the history, research, criticism and analysis of music as an object of study, performance and teaching. In addition this will help you find scores, recordings and streaming music and video resources.
Music Index is a subject-author guide to music literature, reviews and news.
The Music Index Online, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index Online has been available in print since 1949. In 2008, The Music Index Online coverage will span from 1973 to the present and contains surveyed data from over 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries. This database duly cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Published by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, New York, this is a bibliographic citation database that contains records in over 200 languages; entries include English translations. Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, films, videos and more are covered in RILM.
Grove Music Online is the cornerstone. Oxford Music Online
is a gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Grove Music Online
The Oxford Companion to Music
The Oxford Dictionary of Music
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
The Library of Congress provides free access to sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps and sheet music. 3 year trial ends September 2022
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. A portion of this resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Project MUSE® offers more than 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Abstracts covering diverse subject areas of the humanities. Find articles, reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, and original works of fiction. Access limited to 8 simultaneous users.
This database contains abstracts covering diverse subject areas of the humanities. The abstracts feature articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), and reviews of plays and television and radio programs. Includes English and non-English records.
Classical Music in Video is the definitive online collection for the study of classical music in video format. Coverage of musical time periods spans Medieval to the 21st century, and performances cover historical recordings from the 1950s up to the most current recordings today. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Now called Music Online: Listening. This resource is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. The collection allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Music Online: Music & Performing Arts aims to provide the most comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. Allows users to cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Music Online will offer hundreds of thousands of audio recordings, growing monthly, plus 400,000 pages of scores, 100,000 pages of music reference, and over 500 hours of video
The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 378 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented.
Tips for Searching Catalogs and Databases
In addition to the search techniques covered in the "Doing Reserach Tutorial" below, the following techniques can improve your success with online searching, whether you're searching a catalog for books or a database for articles:
Enter phrases in quotes: "Baroque music" "New Orleans jazz"
Use truncation symbols: Use an asterisk, *, to search for alternate word endings. In most databases, entering Music* searches for music, musician(s), musicology, musicianship, etc.
If one term doesn't work, try a few others.Experiment with different vocabulary related to your topic. Brainstorm ideas for relevant keywords and use background sources such as encyclopedias for suggestions.
Search Rolling Stone
Features music, album and artist news, movie reviews, political, economic and pop culture commentary, videos, photos, and more.