A guide to academic music literature: the history, research, criticism and analysis of music as an object of study, performance and teaching. In addition this will help you find scores, recordings and streaming music and video resources.
Classical Music in Video is the definitive online collection for the study of classical music in video format. Coverage of musical time periods spans Medieval to the 21st century, and performances cover historical recordings from the 1950s up to the most current recordings today. Includes captions and transcripts.
The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. The collection allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Music Online: Music & Performing Arts aims to provide the most comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. Allows users to cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press. Includes captions and transcripts for video content, but no captions and transcripts for audio content. Some videos have audio descriptions.
Music Online will offer hundreds of thousands of audio recordings, growing monthly, plus 400,000 pages of scores, 100,000 pages of music reference, and over 500 hours of video