Accessing Deleted Government Pages and Data
Due to the deletion of data and pages regarding many minority populations by the current US government administration, health science librarians recognize that this missing information is critical for delivering evidence-based care to the most vulnerable of those in our care. Various libraries, organizations and other entities are working to maintain access. Below are options for accessing this information.
- PolicyMapPolicyMap has purged data still available. See their availability statement. https://www.policymap.com/blog/purged-federal-agency-data-available
- Downloadable CDC Guidelines (Alt site)An alternative site that is archiving CDC guidelines that have been purged because of their topic. This is a personal website that is archiving a variety of guidelines (contraception, antiretroviral drugs, vaccines and schedules, youth data, LGBTQIA, substance abuse, intimate partner and sexual violence, DOJ and violence against women). Documents are continually added as they are discovered.
- LifeHacker Blog on finding deleted dataThis Blog post by LifeHacker gives instructions on how to get purged information from the Internet Archive/Way Back Machine and also showcases other sources such as the End of Term Archive.
- End of Term ArchiveThis site is dedicated to preserving websites that are in danger of being deleted during US Government presidential transitions.
- UM Guide on Finding information during the 2025 AdministrationThe University of Minnesota has developed a guide on finding information during this administration. The pages on Data and website rescue efforts and Alternative data sources would be good places to start.
- Also look to your professional associations. Some have taken the initiative to preemptively download and make available information needed for practice. Contact them to see what has been done.
As we navigate this disruption to our information system, please remember to email us or make appointments. We are here to assist you in finding the information you must have to meet your clinical and research needs.
Since this is a quickly changing situation, let us know if there is a resource or site that we can add!
Data Sources
- CDC Data SetsData sources include the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)
- American Fact FinderUse Census Data to get a sense of demographics and much more.
Government Resources
- CDC: Mental HealthResources and Data
- Consumer Health: MedlinePlus Child Mental HealthA consumer health focused website from the NIH that has a variety of resources and links.
- National Commission on Children and Disasters 2010 Report to the President and Congress
- National Institute of Mental HealthA Division of the NIH
- Treatment of Children with Mental IllnessHandout available from NIMH in English and Spanish on children and mental health.
Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- DARE : Database of Abstracts of Reviews of EffectsDatabase of evidence-based systematic reviews of diagnostic tests, public health, pharmacology, surgery, psychology and the health care system.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - Google ScholarThis is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text.
- OvidPlatform for ebooks, journals and databases in clinical medicine, nursing, allied health sciences, and psychology. Limited to 125 simultaneous users.
- PsycArticlesNow called APA PsyArticles and is published by the American Psychological Association and Canadian Psychological Association.
- PsycINFOPsychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- ScopusFind the work of a specific author or lab. Track through citations and references.
- Web of ScienceLargest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented.
Library Toolbox
Find books and more with UIC Library Search:
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested by selecting All I-Share Libraries.
Find full text
Search for E-journals, Magazines, Newspapers or E-books
links to full text information from within library database results.
My Account
Connect to My Account in UIC Library Search.
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.
RefWorks
Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with
