Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. You must also connect to SciFinder-n via a UIC IP address on campus, or through VPN or the proxy.
Register for SciFinder-n using your UIC email address.
Follow the instructions for registration. You MUST use an email address with the domain "uic.edu" in order to register. You must also connect to SciFinder-n via a UIC IP address on campus, or through VPN or the proxy. After you submit the form, CAS will send you an e-mail message with instructions for completing the registration process.
China Academic Journals Full-text Database (also known as CAJ) is the largest continuously updated Chinese journals database in China. It has collected more than 8,000 titles with full-text articles since 1994. Has content on mathematics, physics, mechanics, astronomy, chemistry, environmental sciences, agriculture, medicine, public health, technology and other fields.
Reaxys is a new structure that unifies Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry databases. It also includes journal literature (1771 - present) and patent literature (1869 - present) along with search, analysis and workflow tools.
The merger of three prestigious databases puts all the relevant data at the user’s fingertips. A search across the Reaxys database delivers a single results set and each record provides details excerpted from multiple patent or journal sources. Offering a wealth of experimentally validated information, Reaxys brings a fresh look to synthetic chemistry with powerful functionality, combined content and relevant information.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
This resource includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day. It includes abstracts dating back to 1980, and access to the full text of many dissertations from 1997 (and sometimes earlier) to present.
As well as the author written abstracts for doctoral dissertations published since July 1980 and Master’s theses published since 1988, PQDT – A&I includes 24-page previews of dissertations and theses where available. With scholarly research content in every subject, PQDT is a multi-disciplinary resource that supports all academic departments and disciplines.
A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
The most comprehensive streaming video source available to libraries. Academic Video Online: Premium delivers over 70,000 documentaries, feature films, and other titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Includes audio descriptions for some videos and captions and transcripts for all videos.
Docuseek 2 is a platform for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films. It provides access to over 750 documentaries covering a wide variety of subjects including social issues, sustainability, the environment, and many more. Includes captions.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy provides students access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable. If you are a faculty member who needs a film activated for a class, please use the request form in Kanopy. Please include the class name and number, and the date the film is needed.
Direct link to JoVE Science Education videos.
Note: to create a JoVE test for a video, you need to create an account and then register as either a professor or student. Then you need to click confirm under Newsletter to complete the registration.